Enterprise Bill [HL]

Explanatory Notes

Paragraph 5 – Term in office and how it may end

67 The Commissioner and any Deputy Commissioner(s) may be appointed for up to four years and may then be re-appointed for one or two further terms of up to three years each. A person may not serve more than a total of one initial term and two further terms overall whether any of these terms is as Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner.

68 The Commissioner, and any Deputy Commissioners, may resign by giving written notice to the Secretary of State; or the Secretary of State may dismiss the Commissioner (and any Deputy Commissioner(s)) for being unable, unwilling, or unfit to perform their official functions.


Prepared 18th December 2015