Session 2015-16
Internet Publications
Other Bills before Parliament




House of Commons


Thursday 24 March 2016


Public Bill Committee Proceedings


Investigatory Powers Bill


[First and Second Sittings]


John Hayes


Agreed to





the Committee shall (in addition to its first meeting at 11.30 am on Thursday


24 March) meet—



at 2.00 pm on Thursday 24 March; 



at 9.25 am and 2.00 pm on Tuesday 12 April;



at 11.30 am and 2.00 pm on Thursday 14 April;



at 9.25 am and 2.00 pm on Tuesday 19 April;



at 11.30 am and 2.00 pm on Thursday 21 April;



at 9.25 am and 2.00 pm on Tuesday 26 April;



at 11.30 am and 2.00 pm on Thursday 28 April;



at 9.25 am and 2.00 pm on Tuesday 3 May;



at 11.30 am and 2.00 pm on Thursday 5 May;



the Committee shall hear oral evidence on Thursday 24 March in accordance


with the following Table:







Until no later than 12.00 pm

David Anderson Q.C., independent reviewer


of terrorism legislation


Until no later than 12.30 pm

Don’t Spy on Us; Liberty


Until no later than 1.00 pm

International Institute for Strategic Studies;


Lord Evans of Weardale


Until no later than 2.30 pm

NSPCC; Mr Ray McClure


Until no later than 3.00 pm



Until no later than 3.30 pm

National Crime Agency; HM Revenue and




Until no later than 4.00 pm

National Anti-Fraud Network


Until no later than 4.30 pm

Lord Judge, Chief Surveillance


Commissioner; Interception of


Communications Commissioner’s Office


Until no later than 5.00 pm

The Rt. Hon. the Lord Reid of Cardowan;


The Rt. Hon. Charles Clarke



Public Bill Committee Proceedings: 24 March 2016          



Investigatory Powers Bill, continued



proceedings on consideration of the Bill in Committee shall be taken in the


following order: Clauses 1 to 6; Schedule 1; Clauses 7 to 10; Schedule 2;


Clauses 11 to 48; Schedule 3; Clauses 49 to 61; Schedule 4; Clauses 62 to 74;


Schedule 5; Clauses 75 to 96; Schedule 6; Clauses 97 to 207; Schedule 7;


Clauses 208 to 212; Schedule 8; Clauses 213 to 231; Schedule 9; Clause 232;


Schedule 10; Clause 233; new Clauses; new Schedules; remaining


proceedings on the Bill;



the proceedings shall (so far as not previously concluded) be brought to a


conclusion at 5.00 pm on Thursday 5 May.



Mr John Hayes


That, subject to the discretion of the Chair, any written evidence received by the


Committee shall be reported to the House for publication.



Agreed to



Mr John Hayes


That, at this and any subsequent meeting at which oral evidence is to be heard, the


Committee shall sit in private until the witnesses are admitted.


Agreed to



The following witnesses gave oral evidence:


David Anderson QC, Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation, Eric King, Director, Don’t


Spy on Us, Sara Ogilvie, Policy Officer, Liberty, Nigel Inkster, Director of Future Conflict and


Cyber Security, International Institute of Strategic Studies and former Head of the British Secret


Intelligence Service, Lord Evans of Weardale KCB DL, former Director General of the Security


Service (MI5) and Senior Associate Fellow of RUSI who sat on the RUSI Independent Surveillance




Alan Wardle, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, NSPCC, Mr Ray McClure, uncle of Fusilier Lee


Rigby, Mark Hughes, Head of Security, BT, Richard Berry, Assistant Chief Constable,


Gloucestershire Constabulary and National Police Chiefs’ Council (NPCC) lead for


Communications Data, National Crime Agency, Chris Farrimond, Deputy Director, Intelligence


Collection, National Crime Agency, Simon Grunwell, Head of Specialist Delivery, HMRC Fraud


Investigation Service, Mark Astley, Head of Data and Intelligence Services, National Anti-Fraud


Public Bill Committee Proceedings: 24 March 2016          



Investigatory Powers Bill, continued




Lord Judge, Chief Surveillance Commissioner, Mrs Clare Ringshaw-Dowle, Chief Surveillance


Inspector, Rt Hon Sir Stanley Burnton, Interception of Communications Commissioner, Joanna


Cavan, Head of the Interception of Communication Commissioner’s Office, Rt Hon Lord Reid of


Cardowan, former of Home Secretary and Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Rt Hon Charles


Clarke, former Home Secretary



[Adjourned until Tuesday 12 April at 9.25 am



Revised 24 March 2016