Explanatory Notes

Other administrative requirements

104 The functions of the Treasury are carried out by the Commissioners of Her Majesty’s Treasury ("the Commissioners"). There are currently eight Commissioners; the Prime Minister (the First Lord of the Treasury), the Chancellor of the Exchequer (the Second Lord of the Treasury) and 6 Junior Lords of the Treasury.

105 By virtue of section 1 of the Treasury Instruments (Signature) Act 1849 (the "TISA"), where any instrument or act is required to be signed by the Commissioners, it may be signed by two or more of the Commissioners.  It is crucial that the work of the Treasury can continue unimpeded during any covid-19 outbreak and instruments are not delayed in a situation where Commissioners are not available because they are impacted by the covid-19 outbreak.  The Bill will provide flexibility on who can be considered Commissioners and reduce the number of Commissioners needed to sign instruments during any covid-19 outbreak.


Prepared 18th March 2020