House of Commons
16th January 2015
Notices of Motions for which no days have been fixed
('Early Day Motions')

*The figure following this symbol is the number of Members who have added their names in support of the Motion, including the Member in charge of the Motion.

After an Early Day Motion (EDM) has been printed for the first time, it is only reprinted when names are added or amendments tabled; only the first six names and any names added since the last printing are included. After the week in which a Motion is first printed and the following week, added names and amendments appear only in a separate paper, Mature EDMs, distributed the next Thursday. In the meantime, they are available for inspection by Members in the Table Office and the Library or on the EDM database at

Mr David Crausby
Jim Shannon
Mrs Linda Riordan
Mr David Winnick
Sir Peter Bottomley
Mr Ronnie Campbell
Alan Johnson

That this House believes that it is unacceptable to shut accident and emergency (A&E) departments when patients have nowhere else to seek treatment; notes that NHS walk-in centres played a major role in reducing the numbers of patients attending A&E; and calls on the Government to encourage clinical commissioning groups right across the country to reintroduce walk-in centres.

Jeremy Corbyn
Austin Mitchell
John McDonnell
Sir Peter Bottomley
Mr John Leech
Sir Bob Russell
Dr Julian Huppert

That this House expresses its heartfelt sympathy to the families of those journalists, police and others who were assassinated or injured at the offices of the French satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo on 7 January 2015; notes that this attack took place on press day, thereby increasing the casualty list and the potential damage to press freedom; considers that the perpetrators of this heinous crime must swiftly be brought to justice; further notes the bravery of individuals who work in this field despite many of them coming under attack previously, and that in carrying out their jobs they uphold the invaluable and historical right to free speech and freedom of expression which are both integral elements of democracies; acknowledges the solidarity that is being shown around the world on behalf of the victims and their colleagues in standing together in defence of civil liberties at this time; and offers its support to the NUJ in the UK and the International Federation of Journalists for their work in defending the rights of all journalists to do their job without fear of threats, intimidation and brutal murder.

Nadhim Zahawi
Mr David Blunkett
Bob Blackman
Sir Alan Beith
Mark Durkan
Sir Peter Bottomley
Mr Gordon Marsden Joan Walley Caroline Lucas

That this House notes that on 27 January 2015 the UK will observe Holocaust Memorial Day, the 70th anniversary of the liberation of the Nazi concentration and death camp Auschwitz-Birkenau, where an estimated 1.1 million people were murdered; commemorates the six million victims of the Holocaust; further notes that the theme for Holocaust Memorial Day 2015 is Keeping the Memory Alive; further notes the significance of 2015 as it marks 70 years since the end of the Holocaust and the liberation of the concentration camps; pays tribute to the commitment of Holocaust survivors who share their experiences with young people across the country; acknowledges the importance of the Holocaust Educational Trust's work in schools across the UK and in particular the Lessons from Auschwitz project, which has so far given over 25,000 students and teachers the opportunity to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau; also pays tribute to the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust for organising the 2015 national Holocaust Memorial Day commemoration; further notes that a Holocaust Educational Trust Book of Commitment will be placed in the corridor between the Members' Cloakroom and Members' Staircase; and urges all right hon. and hon. Members to sign that Book and observe the day, so that the appalling events of the Holocaust are always understood by future generations.

Mr David Ward
Chloe Smith
Mark Durkan
Mr Gregory Campbell
Mr Adrian Sanders
Andrew George
Hywel Williams Mr Gordon Marsden Stephen Lloyd Tim Farron Sir Robert Smith Mr Mark Williams

That this House welcomes Bite The Ballot's second annual National Voter Registration Day (NVRD) on 5 February 2015, supported by Open Society Foundations, Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Unbound Philanthropy, Hogan Lovells LLP and others, which aims to encourage 250,000 new electors to join the electoral register; praises the NVRD 2014 campaign which encouraged over 50,000 people to register to vote at a cost per registration of £0.25; acknowledges the Government's commitment to get more young people and other under-represented groups to register during the transition to Individual Electoral Registration; further welcomes the move to online registration and that over 36 million people have been successfully matched and automatically added to the new register; believes that with millions of voters still missing from the register, in order to deliver its commitment to maximising registration, the Government must now do more to encourage, support and promote the NVRD annual day of action that involves youth clubs, community groups, educational establishments and businesses across the UK registering people to vote; recognises that this initiative is supported by the APPG on Voter Registration and the Political and Constitutional Reform Select Committee, with unanimous all-party support from members of both Houses and the devolved legislatures; and strongly urges the Government, the Cabinet Office, the Electoral Commission, local authorities, valuation joint boards and local electoral registration officers to fully recognise the importance of NVRD in creating an engaged and inspired young electorate.

Tim Farron
Sir Peter Bottomley

That this House welcomes recent media reports that Russian officials have stated that their government will not unfairly prohibit transgender citizens from operating vehicles based purely on their self-defined gender identity; urges the Russian government to stay true to its word and continue to ensure that the transgender community is not excluded from driving due to characteristics that are completely unrelated to the ability to safely operate vehicles; and calls on the Russian government to end the restriction of freedoms and persecution of the LGBTQ community and instead work towards ensuring that all Russian citizens are given fair opportunities in all sectors of society.

Mr George Galloway

That this House congratulates the organisers of the Big Ride, a sponsored cycle from Edinburgh to London in August which aims to raise aid for children in Gaza; believes that up to a thousand cyclists will take part and that £100,000 will be raised and donated to the Middle East Children's Alliance, a non-profit organisation working for the rights of children in the Middle East; notes that the money will be used to help support and rebuild children's lives damaged as a result of the Israeli assault on Gaza in July 2014 and the seven-year blockade of the Strip; further notes that the 474-mile ride through secondary roads will bring the message of the continuing suffering of Palestinians in Gaza to hundreds of thousands of people; and urges the Government to bring all the efforts it can to persuade Israel and Egypt to end the siege and allow the people to return to normal lives.

Prepared 16th January 2015