House of Commons

The Register of Members' Financial Interests
As at 20 February 2017

Costa, Alberto (South Leicestershire)

Costa, Alberto (South Leicestershire)

1. Employment and earnings

Consultant Solicitor with Nicholas Woolf and Co. Solicitors, 87 Chancery Lane, London WC2A 1ET. From 1 October 2015 until further notice, I will receive £834 per month. Hours: up to 4 hrs per week. (Registered 22 October 2015)

7 October 2016, received additional payment of £279.25. Hours: no additional hours. (Registered 11 October 2016)

4. Visits outside the UK

Name of donor: (1) Italian IPU Group; (2) All Party Parliamentary Group for Italy
Address of donor: (1) Protocol Office, Chamber of Deputies, Piazza del Parlamento, 24 00186 Rome; (2) c/o House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA
Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): (1) hotel accommodation and lunch for me (£595) and my wife (additional cost of £135); (2) dinners on two evenings for myself and my wife (£74 each.)
Destination of visit: Rome, Italy
Dates of visit: 19 to 22 September 2016
Purpose of visit: With APPG Italy delegation, to discuss potential implication of Brexit with senior Italian parliamentarians, and also to meet with the British Ambassador and to attend a plenary of the chamber of Deputies.
(Registered 02 November 2016)

Name of donor: SSPG Ltd (the trading arm of the Solicitor Sole Practitioners Group otherwise known as SPG)
Address of donor: c/o McNair & Co, EBC House, Ranelagh Gardens, London, SW6 3PA
Amount of donation (or estimate of the probable value): , airport transfers, hotel and dinners on Friday and Saturday nights for myself and my wife, plus flights for me only; value £879.11
Destination of visit: Prague, Czech Republic
Date of visit: 25-27 November 2016
Purpose of visit: unremunerated participation in my capacity as a Consultant Solicitor to Nicholas Woolf & Co Solicitors in the Sole Practitioners Group Annual Conference. This included giving a speech and taking part on a panel discussion.
(Registered 20 December 2016)

6. Land and property portfolio: (i) value over £100,000 and/or (ii) giving rental income of over £10,000 a year

Flats in Glasgow and London, the latter owned jointly with my wife: (i) and (from June 2016) (ii). (Registered 02 June 2015; updated 28 June 2016 and 11 October 2016)

8. Miscellaneous

Practising solicitor in England and Wales; member of the Law Society of England and Wales. (Registered 22 October 2015)

From 31 October 2016, non-practising solicitor and notary public in Scotland. (Registered 22 October 2015; updated 9 November 2016)

9. Family members employed and paid from parliamentary expenses

I employ my spouse, Dr Maria Costa, as part-time Office Manager. (Registered 20 April 2016)


Prepared 22nd February 2017