Previous Section Home Page

Column 874

Moynihan, Hon Colin

Mudd, David

Neale, Gerrard

Nelson, Anthony

Neubert, Michael

Nicholls, Patrick

Nicholson, David (Taunton)

Nicholson, Emma (Devon West)

Onslow, Rt Hon Cranley

Oppenheim, Phillip

Page, Richard

Paice, James

Parkinson, Rt Hon Cecil

Patnick, Irvine

Patten, John (Oxford W)

Pattie, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey

Pawsey, James

Peacock, Mrs Elizabeth

Porter, Barry (Wirral S)

Porter, David (Waveney)

Portillo, Michael

Powell, William (Corby)

Price, Sir David

Raffan, Keith

Redwood, John

Renton, Tim

Rhodes James, Robert

Rifkind, Rt Hon Malcolm

Roberts, Wyn (Conwy)

Rowe, Andrew

Sackville, Hon Tom

Sainsbury, Hon Tim

Scott, Nicholas

Shaw, Sir Giles (Pudsey)

Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)

Sims, Roger

Skeet, Sir Trevor

Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)

Spicer, Michael (S Worcs)

Stevens, Lewis

Stewart, Allan (Eastwood)

Stradling Thomas, Sir John

Summerson, Hugo

Taylor, John M (Solihull)

Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)

Thatcher, Rt Hon Margaret

Thompson, D. (Calder Valley)

Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)

Thorne, Neil

Thornton, Malcolm

Thurnham, Peter

Townend, John (Bridlington)

Tracey, Richard

Tredinnick, David

Trotter, Neville

Twinn, Dr Ian

Vaughan, Sir Gerard

Viggers, Peter

Waddington, Rt Hon David

Wakeham, Rt Hon John

Waldegrave, Hon William

Walden, George

Walker, Bill (T'side North)

Waller, Gary

Walters, Sir Dennis

Ward, John

Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)

Warren, Kenneth

Watts, John

Wells, Bowen

Wheeler, John

Whitney, Ray

Widdecombe, Ann

Wiggin, Jerry

Wilkinson, John

Winterton, Mrs Ann

Winterton, Nicholas

Wolfson, Mark

Wood, Timothy

Woodcock, Mike

Yeo, Tim

Young, Sir George (Acton)

Younger, Rt Hon George

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. Michael Fallon and

Mr. David Heathcoat-Amory.

Question accordingly negatived.

Bill committed to a Standing Committee pursuant to Standing Order No. 61 (Committal of Bills).

It being after Ten o'clock, Mr. Speaker-- proceeded to put forthwith the Questions which he was directed by paragraph (1) of Standing Order No. 53 (Questions on voting of estimates &c.) to put at that hour.



That a supplementary sum, not exceeding £1,042,249,000, be granted to her Majesty out of the Consolidated Fund to defray charges for Civil Services which will come in course of payment during the year ending on 31st March 1989, as set out in House of Commons Paper No. 690 of Session 1987-88.



That a sum, not exceeding £50,987,976,000, be granted to Her Majesty out of the Consolidated Fund, on account, for or towards defraying the charges for defence and Civil Services for the year ending on 31st March 1990, as set out in House of Commons Papers Nos. 691, 692 and 661 of Session 1987-88.

Bill ordered to be brought in upon the foregoing Resolutions by the Chairman of Ways and Means, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Mr. John Major, Mr. Norman Lamont, Mr. Peter Brooke and Mr. Peter Lilley.

Column 875


Mr. Norman Lamont accordingly presented a Bill to apply certain sums out of the Consolidated Fund to the service of the years ending on 31 March 1989 and 1990 ; And the same was read the First time ; and ordered to be read a Second time tomorrow and to be printed. [Bill 12.]



That, at this day's sitting, the Ways and Means Motion may be proceeded with, though opposed, until any hour.-- [Mr. Maclean.]

Column 877

Electricity Bill [Money]

Queen's recommendation having been signified--

Motion made, and Question proposed,

That, for the purpose of any Act resulting from the Electricity Bill ("the Act"), it is expedient to authorise--

(1) the payment out of money provided by Parliament of the following, namely--

Next Section

  Home Page