Previous Section Home Page

Column 165

union for a particular purpose, that is the purpose for which paid time off is given. Ultimately the employer pays the wages. I am not hiding it from the hon. Gentleman that the employer should be entitled to say to the trade union, "I recognise you for this purpose ; therefore, you are entitled to paid time off. I do not recognise you for that purpose ; therefore, you are not."

When I moved the amendments formally I said that they were technical. They are technical. At the same time I accept that they are complex, but I trust that, even at this hour, I have given the House some elucidation. We shall find out in a moment or two whether I have given any comfort.

Question put, That the amendment be made :--

The House divided : Ayes 103, Noes 30.

Division No. 226] [2.24 am


Alexander, Richard

Alison, Rt Hon Michael

Amos, Alan

Arbuthnot, James

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Ashby, David

Batiste, Spencer

Bennett, Nicholas (Pembroke)

Bevan, David Gilroy

Boswell, Tim

Bottomley, Peter

Brazier, Julian

Bright, Graham

Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)

Chapman, Sydney

Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest)

Cope, Rt Hon John

Davis, David (Boothferry)

Devlin, Tim

Dorrell, Stephen

Durant, Tony

Favell, Tony

Fishburn, John Dudley

Forth, Eric

Fowler, Rt Hon Norman

Freeman, Roger

French, Douglas

Garel-Jones, Tristan

Gill, Christopher

Greenway, John (Ryedale)

Gregory, Conal

Griffiths, Sir Eldon (Bury St E')

Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N)

Hague, William

Hamilton, Hon Archie (Epsom)

Hanley, Jeremy

Hargreaves, Ken (Hyndburn)

Harris, David

Hawkins, Christopher

Heddle, John

Hind, Kenneth

Howarth, Alan (Strat'd-on-A)

Howarth, G. (Cannock & B'wd)

Hughes, Robert G. (Harrow W)

Hunt, David (Wirral W)

Irvine, Michael

Jack, Michael

Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)

King, Roger (B'ham N'thfield)

Kirkhope, Timothy

Knapman, Roger

Knowles, Michael

Lee, John (Pendle)

Lightbown, David

Lilley, Peter

Lloyd, Peter (Fareham)

Lyell, Sir Nicholas

Maclean, David

McLoughlin, Patrick

Martin, David (Portsmouth S)

Maude, Hon Francis

Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin

Mayhew, Rt Hon Sir Patrick

Meyer, Sir Anthony

Mills, Iain

Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling)

Mitchell, Sir David

Moss, Malcolm

Moynihan, Hon Colin

Neubert, Michael

Nicholls, Patrick

Nicholson, David (Taunton)

Nicholson, Emma (Devon West)

Norris, Steve

Paice, James

Patnick, Irvine

Raffan, Keith

Redwood, John

Ridley, Rt Hon Nicholas

Ryder, Richard

Sackville, Hon Tom

Sainsbury, Hon Tim

Shaw, David (Dover)

Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)

Shersby, Michael

Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)

Stevens, Lewis

Stewart, Andy (Sherwood)

Stradling Thomas, Sir John

Summerson, Hugo

Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)

Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)

Thurnham, Peter

Trippier, David

Trotter, Neville

Twinn, Dr Ian

Waddington, Rt Hon David

Waller, Gary

Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)

Watts, John

Wells, Bowen

Widdecombe, Ann

Wood, Timothy

Tellers for the Ayes :

Mr. David Heathcoat-Amory


Mr. Michael Fallon.


Alton, David

Barnes, Harry (Derbyshire NE)

Barron, Kevin

Battle, John

Buckley, George J.

Clay, Bob

Next Section

  Home Page