Previous Section Home Page

Column 75

Maclean, David

McLoughlin, Patrick

McNair-Wilson, P. (New Forest)

Mans, Keith

Maples, John

Marlow, Tony

Marshall, John (Hendon S)

Martin, David (Portsmouth S)

Maude, Hon Francis

Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin

Mayhew, Rt Hon Sir Patrick

Mellor, David

Meyer, Sir Anthony

Miller, Sir Hal

Mills, Iain

Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling)

Moate, Roger

Monro, Sir Hector

Montgomery, Sir Fergus

Morrison, Sir Charles

Morrison, Rt Hon P (Chester)

Moss, Malcolm

Mudd, David

Neale, Gerrard

Neubert, Michael

Nicholls, Patrick

Nicholson, David (Taunton)

Norris, Steve

Onslow, Rt Hon Cranley

Oppenheim, Phillip

Page, Richard

Pattie, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey

Peacock, Mrs Elizabeth

Porter, Barry (Wirral S)

Porter, David (Waveney)

Portillo, Michael

Raffan, Keith

Raison, Rt Hon Timothy

Redwood, John

Rhodes James, Robert

Riddick, Graham

Roe, Mrs Marion

Rossi, Sir Hugh

Rowe, Andrew

Sackville, Hon Tom

Scott, Nicholas

Shaw, David (Dover)

Shaw, Sir Michael (Scarb')

Shephard, Mrs G. (Norfolk SW)

Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge)

Shersby, Michael

Sims, Roger

Skeet, Sir Trevor

Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)

Speed, Keith

Speller, Tony

Spicer, Sir Jim (Dorset W)

Stanbrook, Ivor

Stern, Michael

Stevens, Lewis

Stewart, Andy (Sherwood)

Stradling Thomas, Sir John

Summerson, Hugo

Taylor, Ian (Esher)

Taylor, John M (Solihull)

Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)

Temple-Morris, Peter

Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)

Thorne, Neil

Townsend, Cyril D. (B'heath)

Tredinnick, David

Trippier, David

Trotter, Neville

Twinn, Dr Ian

Vaughan, Sir Gerard

Waddington, Rt Hon David

Wakeham, Rt Hon John

Walker, Bill (T'side North)

Waller, Gary

Walters, Sir Dennis

Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)

Warren, Kenneth

Watts, John

Wells, Bowen

Whitney, Ray

Widdecombe, Ann

Wiggin, Jerry

Wilkinson, John

Wilshire, David

Winterton, Mrs Ann

Winterton, Nicholas

Wolfson, Mark

Wood, Timothy

Yeo, Tim

Young, Sir George (Acton)

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. David Heathcoat-Amory

and Mr. Alan Howarth.

Question accordingly negatived.

Question, That the proposed words be there added, put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No. 30 (Questions on amendments) and agreed to.

Mr. Deputy Speaker-- forthwith declared the main Question, as amended, to be agreed to.


That this House congratulates the Government on the record levels of capital investment in all forms of transport infrastructure since 1979 while at the same time reducing the burden on the taxpayer ; welcomes their plans to increase this investment further over coming years with both public and private money to meet the forecast growth in demand which is the result of the economic success of this country under the Conservative Government ; welcomes the Government's success in creating the conditions in which the private sector could both finance and build the Channel Tunnel ; congratulates the Government on its determination that the whole of the United Kingdom shall share in its benefits ; applauds the high priority that they give to all matters of safety on transport ; and welcomes their recognition of the importance of environmental conditions in transport policy.

Next Section

  Home Page