Previous Section Home Page

Clause 3

A company's financial year and accounting reference periods

9.15 pm

Mr. Redwood : I beg to move amendment No. 7, in page 4, line 44, leave out Part I' and insert section 3'.

The Deputy Speaker (Sir Paul Dean) : With this we shall discuss Government amendments Nos. 8, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18 to 21, 24, 30 and 32 to 67.

Column 940

Mr. Redwood : These amendments make a number of minor changes to part I. Nos. 7 and 8 replace a reference to the commencement of part I of the Bill with a reference to the specific provision in question, to allow for the possibility that different provisions in the part are brought into force at different times. Nos. 9 and 10 simply improve the clarity of the part, No. 12 corrects a reference, No. 20 corrects a minor error and No. 24 makes it clear how references to the day on which accounts are sent to shareholders and others are to be interpreted. Nos. 33 and 34 make a minor change to the order-making power in new section 257. They put it beyond doubt that the power includes the power to make consequential amendments elsewhere in the 1985 Act and in other enactments and to make transitional provisions.

The other amendments are all consequential amendments of one form or another.

Question put, That the amendment be made :--

The House divided : Ayes 191, Noes 62.

Division No. 341] [9.17pm


Aitken, Jonathan

Alexander, Richard

Alison, Rt Hon Michael

Allason, Rupert

Amess, David

Amos, Alan

Arbuthnot, James

Ashby, David

Atkins, Robert

Atkinson, David

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N)

Batiste, Spencer

Bellingham, Henry

Bennett, Nicholas (Pembroke)

Benyon, W.

Biffen, Rt Hon John

Bonsor, Sir Nicholas

Boscawen, Hon Robert

Boswell, Tim

Bottomley, Mrs Virginia

Bowis, John

Brandon-Bravo, Martin

Brazier, Julian

Brown, Michael (Brigg & Cl't's)

Bruce, Ian (Dorset South)

Bruce, Malcolm (Gordon)

Buck, Sir Antony

Burns, Simon

Burt, Alistair

Butcher, John

Butler, Chris

Butterfill, John

Campbell, Menzies (Fife NE)

Carlile, Alex (Mont'g)

Carlisle, John, (Luton N)

Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)

Carrington, Matthew

Carttiss, Michael

Cash, William

Chalker, Rt Hon Mrs Lynda

Chapman, Sydney

Chope, Christopher

Clark, Sir W. (Croydon S)

Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest)

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Cormack, Patrick

Currie, Mrs Edwina

Curry, David

Davies, Q. (Stamf'd & Spald'g)

Davis, David (Boothferry)

Day, Stephen

Dicks, Terry

Dorrell, Stephen

Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James

Dover, Den

Dunn, Bob

Durant, Tony

Evennett, David

Favell, Tony

Fearn, Ronald

Field, Barry (Isle of Wight)

Fishburn, John Dudley

Fookes, Dame Janet

Forman, Nigel

Forsyth, Michael (Stirling)

Forth, Eric

Fowler, Rt Hon Norman

Fox, Sir Marcus

Freeman, Roger

French, Douglas

Gale, Roger

Garel-Jones, Tristan

Glyn, Dr Alan

Goodlad, Alastair

Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles

Gow, Ian

Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)

Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N)

Ground, Patrick

Gummer, Rt Hon John Selwyn

Hague, William

Hamilton, Neil (Tatton)

Hampson, Dr Keith

Hanley, Jeremy

Harris, David

Haselhurst, Alan

Hayward, Robert

Heathcoat-Amory, David

Hicks, Mrs Maureen (Wolv' NE)

Higgins, Rt Hon Terence L.

Hind, Kenneth

Hordern, Sir Peter

Howard, Michael

Howells, Geraint

Hunt, David (Wirral W)

Hunt, Sir John (Ravensbourne)

Hunter, Andrew

Irvine, Michael

Jack, Michael

Janman, Tim

Jessel, Toby

Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)

Kellett-Bowman, Dame Elaine

Kennedy, Charles

Key, Robert

Kilfedder, James

Knapman, Roger

Knight, Greg (Derby North)

Next Section

  Home Page