Previous Section Home Page

Mr. Redwood : Clause 198 was inserted in Committee against the advice of my hon. Friend the then Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Corporate Affairs. It was put to the Committee with passion and eloquence by my hon. Friend the Member for Beaconsfield (Mr. Smith), but everyone would accept that it does not work in its present form--

It being Ten o'clock, further consideration of the Bill stood adjourned.

Question put,

That, at this day's sitting, the Companies Bill [Lords] may be proceeded with, though opposed, until any hour.-- [Mr. Dorrell.] The House divided : Ayes 157, Noes 54.

Division No. 344] [10 pm


Alexander, Richard

Alison, Rt Hon Michael

Amos, Alan

Arbuthnot, James

Atkinson, David

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N)

Batiste, Spencer

Bellingham, Henry

Column 948

Bennett, Nicholas (Pembroke)

Benyon, W.

Biffen, Rt Hon John

Body, Sir Richard

Boscawen, Hon Robert

Boswell, Tim

Bowis, John

Braine, Rt Hon Sir Bernard

Brazier, Julian

Brown, Michael (Brigg & Cl't's)

Buck, Sir Antony

Burns, Simon

Burt, Alistair

Butler, Chris

Butterfill, John

Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)

Carrington, Matthew

Carttiss, Michael

Cash, William

Chalker, Rt Hon Mrs Lynda

Chapman, Sydney

Chope, Christopher

Clark, Dr Michael (Rochford)

Clark, Sir W. (Croydon S)

Clarke, Rt Hon K. (Rushcliffe)

Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest)

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Currie, Mrs Edwina

Curry, David

Davies, Q. (Stamf'd & Spald'g)

Davis, David (Boothferry)

Day, Stephen

Dicks, Terry

Dorrell, Stephen

Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James

Dover, Den

Dunn, Bob

Durant, Tony

Evennett, David

Fallon, Michael

Favell, Tony

Fishburn, John Dudley

Fookes, Dame Janet

Forman, Nigel

Forsyth, Michael (Stirling)

Forth, Eric

Fowler, Rt Hon Norman

Fox, Sir Marcus

Freeman, Roger

French, Douglas

Gale, Roger

Garel-Jones, Tristan

Glyn, Dr Alan

Goodlad, Alastair

Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles

Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)

Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N)

Ground, Patrick

Gummer, Rt Hon John Selwyn

Hague, William

Hamilton, Neil (Tatton)

Hanley, Jeremy

Harris, David

Haselhurst, Alan

Hayes, Jerry

Hayward, Robert

Heathcoat-Amory, David

Hicks, Mrs Maureen (Wolv' NE)

Hind, Kenneth

Howells, Geraint

Hughes, Robert G. (Harrow W)

Hunt, David (Wirral W)

Hunt, Sir John (Ravensbourne)

Hunter, Andrew

Irvine, Michael

Jack, Michael

Janman, Tim

Jessel, Toby

Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)

Key, Robert

Kilfedder, James

Knapman, Roger

Knight, Greg (Derby North)

Knight, Dame Jill (Edgbaston)

Knowles, Michael

Lang, Ian

Latham, Michael

Lester, Jim (Broxtowe)

Lilley, Peter

Lyell, Sir Nicholas

MacGregor, Rt Hon John

Maclean, David

McLoughlin, Patrick

McNair-Wilson, Sir Michael

Major, Rt Hon John

Mans, Keith

Marland, Paul

Marshall, John (Hendon S)

Martin, David (Portsmouth S)

Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin

Meyer, Sir Anthony

Mills, Iain

Morrison, Sir Charles

Nicholls, Patrick

Nicholson, Emma (Devon West)

Pawsey, James

Powell, William (Corby)

Redwood, John

Ridley, Rt Hon Nicholas

Ridsdale, Sir Julian

Rumbold, Mrs Angela

Sainsbury, Hon Tim

Shaw, David (Dover)

Shaw, Sir Giles (Pudsey)

Shephard, Mrs G. (Norfolk SW)

Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge)

Shersby, Michael

Smith, Tim (Beaconsfield)

Soames, Hon Nicholas

Speller, Tony

Spicer, Sir Jim (Dorset W)

Steen, Anthony

Stevens, Lewis

Stewart, Andy (Sherwood)

Stradling Thomas, Sir John

Summerson, Hugo

Taylor, John M (Solihull)

Taylor, Teddy (S'end E)

Thompson, D. (Calder Valley)

Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)

Thorne, Neil

Townsend, Cyril D. (B'heath)

Tracey, Richard

Twinn, Dr Ian

Vaughan, Sir Gerard

Waddington, Rt Hon David

Wakeham, Rt Hon John

Walters, Sir Dennis

Ward, John

Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)

Watts, John

Wheeler, John

Widdecombe, Ann

Wiggin, Jerry

Winterton, Mrs Ann

Winterton, Nicholas

Wolfson, Mark

Wood, Timothy

Young, Sir George (Acton)

Tellers for the Ayes :

Mr. Tom Sackville and

Mr. Irvine Patnick.


Next Section

  Home Page