Previous Section Home Page

Marshall, Jim (Leicester S)

Martin, Michael J. (Springburn)

Column 1081

Martlew, Eric

Maxton, John

Michael, Alun

Michie, Bill (Sheffield Heeley)

Michie, Mrs Ray (Arg'l & Bute)

Moonie, Dr Lewis

Morgan, Rhodri

Morley, Elliot

Mowlam, Marjorie

Murphy, Paul

Oakes, Rt Hon Gordon

Patchett, Terry

Pike, Peter L.

Quin, Ms Joyce

Randall, Stuart

Reid, Dr John

Richardson, Jo

Roberts, Allan (Bootle)

Rowlands, Ted

Ruddock, Joan

Short, Clare

Skinner, Dennis

Smith, Andrew (Oxford E)

Snape, Peter

Soley, Clive

Spearing, Nigel

Steinberg, Gerry

Straw, Jack

Taylor, Mrs Ann (Dewsbury)

Taylor, Matthew (Truro)

Vaz, Keith

Wallace, James

Wardell, Gareth (Gower)

Wareing, Robert N.

Watson, Mike (Glasgow, C)

Welsh, Andrew (Angus E)

Wigley, Dafydd

Williams, Alan W. (Carm'then)

Winnick, David

Wise, Mrs Audrey

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. Michael Welsh and

Mr. Martin Redmond.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Amendment proposed in lieu of the Lords amendment : (a), after clause 140, insert the following new Clause-- Charges : temporary traffic signs--

(1) In section 65 of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984 (powers and duties of highways authorities and roads authorities as to placing of traffic signs) after subsection (3) there shall be inserted the following subsection--

"(3A) No charge may be made--

(a) in England and Wales, by a highway authority which is the council of a county, metropolitan district or London borough or the Common Council of the City of London, or

(b) in Scotland, by a local roads authority,

with respect to the exercise of their power under subsection (1) above to permit a traffic sign to be placed on or near any road in their area if--

(i) the sign conveys information of a temporary nature or is otherwise intended to be placed only temporarily ; and

(ii) the sign is to be placed by a body which is prescribed for the purposes of this subsection as being a body appearing to the Secretary of State to be representative of the interests of road users or any class of road users."

(2) Subsection (1) above does not apply in any case where, before this section comes into force, the payment of a charge has been agreed.'.-- [Mr. Garel-Jones.]

Question put forthwith, That the amendment be made : The House divided : Ayes 197, Noes 118.

Division No. 378] [9.34 pm


Adley, Robert

Alexander, Richard

Amess, David

Amos, Alan

Arbuthnot, James

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Arnold, Tom (Hazel Grove)

Ashby, David

Aspinwall, Jack

Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Valley)

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N)

Batiste, Spencer

Beggs, Roy

Bevan, David Gilroy

Blackburn, Dr John G.

Bonsor, Sir Nicholas

Boscawen, Hon Robert

Bowden, Gerald (Dulwich)

Brandon-Bravo, Martin

Brazier, Julian

Bright, Graham

Browne, John (Winchester)

Bruce, Ian (Dorset South)

Budgen, Nicholas

Burns, Simon

Butcher, John

Butler, Chris

Butterfill, John

Carlisle, John, (Luton N)

Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)

Carrington, Matthew

Carttiss, Michael

Chalker, Rt Hon Mrs Lynda

Chapman, Sydney

Chope, Christopher

Clark, Dr Michael (Rochford)

Colvin, Michael

Conway, Derek

Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest)

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Cran, James

Davis, David (Boothferry)

Day, Stephen

Devlin, Tim

Next Section

  Home Page