Previous Section Home Page

Column 1242

Summerson, Hugo

Taylor, Ian (Esher)

Taylor, John M (Solihull)

Viggers, Peter

Walker, Bill (T'side North)

Waller, Gary

Widdecombe, Ann

Wilkinson, John

Wood, Timothy

Abbott, Ms Diane

Banks, Tony (Newham NW)

Barnes, Harry (Derbyshire NE)

Barron, Kevin

Bennett, A. F. (D'nt'n & R'dish)

Boateng, Paul

Brown, Ron (Edinburgh Leith)

Cryer, Bob

Cummings, John

Davis, Terry (B'ham Hodge H'l)

Dixon, Don

Dunwoody, Hon Mrs Gwyneth

Ewing, Mrs Margaret (Moray)

Gordon, Mildred

Haynes, Frank

Home Robertson, John

Hoyle, Doug

Hughes, John (Coventry NE)

Jones, Ieuan (Ynys Mo n)

Lamond, James

Leighton, Ron

Litherland, Robert

McKay, Allen (Barnsley West)

Meale, Alan

Morgan, Rhodri

Nellist, Dave

O'Brien, William

Pike, Peter L.

Powell, Ray (Ogmore)

Skinner, Dennis

Smith, C. (Isl'ton & F'bury)

Smith, J. P. (Vale of Glam)

Vaz, Keith

Wall, Pat

Wigley, Dafydd

Wise, Mrs Audrey

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. Martin Redmond and

Mr. Michael Welsh.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Mr. Deputy Speaker (Sir Paul Dean) : It is customary to put all the Lords amendments together--

Hon. Members : No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker : In view of that reaction, I think that the hon. Member for Doncaster, North (Mr. Welsh) lays particular emphasis on the second amendment--

Hon. Members : No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker : So be it ; I shall put the Question on the first.

Lords amendment : In clause 4, page 3, line 12, leave out "having regard to" and insert "by reason of".

Question put, That this House doth agree with the Lords in the said amendment :--

The House divided : Ayes 104, Noes 27.

Division No. 389] [8.53 pm


Alexander, Richard

Amos, Alan

Arbuthnot, James

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Valley)

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N)

Baldry, Tony

Benyon, W.

Bevan, David Gilroy

Blackburn, Dr John G.

Boswell, Tim

Bowis, John

Braine, Rt Hon Sir Bernard

Brandon-Bravo, Martin

Bruce, Ian (Dorset South)

Buck, Sir Antony

Carlisle, John, (Luton N)

Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)

Carrington, Matthew

Chapman, Sydney

Clark, Hon Alan (Plym'th S'n)

Clarke, Rt Hon K. (Rushcliffe)

Colvin, Michael

Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest)

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Couchman, James

Davis, David (Boothferry)

Dorrell, Stephen

Durant, Tony

Eggar, Tim

Emery, Sir Peter

Fenner, Dame Peggy

Field, Barry (Isle of Wight)

Finsberg, Sir Geoffrey

Fookes, Dame Janet

Forman, Nigel

Gale, Roger

Garel-Jones, Tristan

Gill, Christopher

Glyn, Dr Alan

Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)

Greenway, John (Ryedale)

Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N)

Ground, Patrick

Gummer, Rt Hon John Selwyn

Hague, William

Hampson, Dr Keith

Harris, David

Hayhoe, Rt Hon Sir Barney

Hayward, Robert

Heathcoat-Amory, David

Heseltine, Rt Hon Michael

Holt, Richard

Hordern, Sir Peter

Howarth, G. (Cannock & B'wd)

Howe, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey

Next Section

  Home Page