Previous Section Home Page

Mr. Kilfoyle : To ask the President of the Board of Trade who are the members currently appointed to the Copyright Tribunal.

Mr. McLoughlin : The current members of the Copyright Tribunal are as follows :


Mr. Michael Bowers OBE

Deputy Chairmen

Mr. Brian Gill QC PHD

Mr. Hugh Laddie QC

Ordinary Members

Column 210

Mr. Hugh Brett

Mr. Paddy Cribb

Mr. Laurie Farrington

Mrs. Angela Howorth

Sir Michael Lickiss

Mr. Arthur Rayner

Mr. Peter Sebastian CBE

Mr. Kilfoyle : To ask the President of the Board of Trade who are the members currently appointed to the Innovation Advisory Board.

Mr. McLoughlin : The Innovation Advisory Board, as then constituted was wound up in September 1993. At that time the external members of the IAB were :


Lord Chilver


EEC Group plc

Dr. Stuart Burgess


Immuno International AG

Mr. Richard Duggan


Crosfield Chemicals

Dr. Ken W. Grey

Executive Chairman

Thorn Software

Mr. Len Weaver


Jones and Shipman

Sir David Cooksey


Advent Ltd.

Mr. Richard Freeman

Corporate Chief Economist

ICI Group

Mr. Michael Henderson

Chief Executive

Ronar Services Ltd.

Dr. Peter Williams

Chief Executive

Oxford Instruments

Since its inception in 1988 the IAB had a widely acknowledged reputation as a strong and effective champion of innovation and a very valuable source of advice to DTI. However, taking account of the publication of the science, engineering and technology White Paper, "Realising our Potential" in May 1993, the advisory structures being established by the Office of Science and Technology and the steps DTI is taking to develop closer links with business my right hon. Friend the President of the Board of Trade agreed with the Lord Chilver and members of the IAB that the role of the board should be reviewed. No decision has been taken on the structure of any successor arrangements.

Mr. Kilfoyle : To ask the President of the Board of Trade who are the members currently appointed to the English Industrial Estates Corporation.

Mr. Sainsbury : The current members of the English Industrial Estates Corporation are as follows :

Sir Idris Pearce CBE TD--Chairman

Sir Kenneth Stowe GCB CVO--Deputy Chairman

Mr. Reay Atkinson CB

Mr. Euan Macfarlane CBE

Mr. Ron Norman OBE

Mr. Tony Pender CBE--Chief Executive

Sir Norman Wakefield

Column 211


Ms Abbott : To ask the President of the Board of Trade if he will list the organisations to which his Department awarded consultancy work in 1992 and 1993 together with a list of the consultancies concerned and the amount paid.

Mr. Eggar : The consultancy contracts awarded centrally by the Department of Trade and Industry to all organisations in 1992 and 1993 plus the total value of those contracts are as detailed in the tables. The values of individual contracts are commercially confidential.

Organisations to which consultancy contracts were issued in 1992 Name of company

ABB Global Engineering

AD Technologies

AEA Industrial Technology

Aegis Systems Ltd.


Amp Computer Recruitment Ltd.

Amp Systems Ltd.

Amps Limited

Andrew Irving Associates

Annabel Jackson Associates

Anshar Limited


APM Ltd.

Appleton Associates Int.

Applied Electromagnetics Limited

Aspen Business Communications plc

Association of British Chambers of Commerce

Association of Print and Packaging

Barton Marketing Services

Beechcroft Commercial Systems

Benchmark Research Limited

Beta Technology Ltd.

BHR Group Limited

BIS Applied Systems

BIS Information Services Ltd.

BJM Research

John T. Boyd Company

Bradford University

Brameur Ltd.

Brantwood Consulting

Bristol University

British Aerospace Space Ltd.

British Materials Handling BOA

British Technology Group

British Textile Technology Group

Brook Street

Building Services Research

Burrups Limited

Business Market and Research plc

Business IT Solutions

Business Management Promotions Ltd.

Buxton Douglass Ltd.

CAD-CAM Data Exchange

Technical Centre (CADDETC)

Cambashi Ltd.

Cambridge Consultants Ltd.

Cambridge Material Corrosion


Capita Group plc

Centre for Adhesive Technology

Charles Barker Ltd.

Cheshire Precision Shape Ltd.

Chesterton Consulting Group

Chris Makemson Consultants Ltd.

Clearaway International Holdings Ltd.

CMG Information Service Public Sector

Commonwealth Development Corporation

Compupro Limited

Computer Consultants

Computer Training and Education Centre (CTEC)

Concorde Services Ltd.

Concurrant Computer Corporation Ltd.

Coopers and Lybrand

Corinne Flemming Associates

Cornwall County Council

Next Section

  Home Page