Previous Section Home Page

Column 74

McCartney, Ian

McFall, John

Mackinlay, Andrew

McMaster, Gordon

Maddock, Mrs Diana

Marshall, Jim (Leicester, S)

Maxton, John

Meale, Alan

Michael, Alun

Michie, Mrs Ray (Argyll Bute)

Miller, Andrew

Mullin, Chris

O'Brien, Michael (N W'kshire)

O'Hara, Edward

O'Neill, Martin

Orme, Rt Hon Stanley

Pike, Peter L.

Powell, Ray (Ogmore)

Prentice, Ms Bridget (Lew'm E)

Raynsford, Nick

Rendel, David

Robertson, George (Hamilton)

Roche, Mrs. Barbara

Ross, Ernie (Dundee W)

Salmond, Alex

Shore, Rt Hon Peter

Smith, C. (Isl'ton S & F'sbury)

Spearing, Nigel

Spellar, John

Squire, Rachel (Dunfermline W)

Taylor, Matthew (Truro)

Tipping, Paddy

Tyler, Paul

Walley, Joan

Watson, Mike

Welsh, Andrew

Williams, Alan W (Carmarthen)

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. Derek Enright and

Mr. Dennis Skinner.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Motion made, and Question put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No. 102(9) (European Standing Committees).

Landfill of Waste

That this House takes note of European Community Documents Nos. 5953/91 and 7506/93 and the Supplementary Explanatory Memorandum submitted by the Department of the Environment on 10th January 1994, relating to the landfill of waste ; endorses the Government's view that the proposal is unnecessarily detailed and prescriptive and does not take sufficient account of the principle of subsidiarity which is enshrined in the Treaty of European Union ; welcomes the Government's intention to press for the removal of a number of the more detailed provisions now that it is clear that other Member States wish to take forward the Directive ; supports the Government's view that carefully controlled co-disposal is an environmentally sound practice, the banning of which in the United Kingdom would be detrimental to the environment and would lead to significantly increased disposal costs for certain types of industrial waste ; and endorses the Government's intention to seek a common position in Council which would allow those countries who practise controlled co-disposal to continue to do so.-- [Mr. Robert G. Hughes.]

The House divided : Ayes 184, Noes 103.


Division No. 109] [7.13 pm Ainsworth, Peter (East Surrey) Aitken, Jonathan

Alexander, Richard

Alison, Rt Hon Michael (Selby)

Amess, David

Ancram, Michael

Arbuthnot, James

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Arnold, Sir Thomas (Hazel Grv)

Ashby, David

Atkins, Robert

Atkinson, David (Bour'mouth E)

Atkinson, Peter (Hexham)

Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Valley)

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset North)

Baldry, Tony

Bates, Michael

Blackburn, Dr John G.

Booth, Hartley

Boswell, Tim

Bowden, Andrew

Bowis, John

Brandreth, Gyles

Brazier, Julian

Brooke, Rt Hon Peter

Brown, M. (Brigg & Cl'thorpes)

Browning, Mrs. Angela

Burt, Alistair

Butler, Peter

Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)

Carrington, Matthew

Carttiss, Michael

Cash, William

Clappison, James

Clark, Dr Michael (Rochford)

Clifton-Brown, Geoffrey

Coe, Sebastian

Congdon, David

Conway, Derek

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Cope, Rt Hon Sir John

Cormack, Patrick

Cran, James

Curry, David (Skipton & Ripon)

Davies, Quentin (Stamford)

Deva, Nirj Joseph

Devlin, Tim

Dorrell, Stephen

Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James

Dover, Den

Duncan, Alan

Duncan-Smith, Iain

Durant, Sir Anthony

Eggar, Tim

Emery, Rt Hon Sir Peter

Evans, Jonathan (Brecon)

Next Section

  Home Page