Previous Section Home Page

Column 70

Stanley, Rt Hon Sir John

Steinberg, Gerry

Stephen, Michael

Stern, Michael

Stevenson, George

Stott, Roger

Strang, Dr. Gavin

Straw, Jack

Tapsell, Sir Peter

Taylor, Mrs Ann (Dewsbury)

Taylor, Ian (Esher)

Taylor, Matthew (Truro)

Temple-Morris, Peter

Thompson, Jack (Wansbeck)

Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)

Townsend, Cyril D. (Bexl'yh'th)

Trend, Michael

Turner, Dennis

Tyler, Paul

Vaz, Keith

Waldegrave, Rt Hon William

Walden, George

Waller, Gary

Walley, Joan

Wardell, Gareth (Gower)

Wareing, Robert N

Watson, Mike

Wheeler, Rt Hon Sir John

Wicks, Malcolm

Willetts, David

Williams, Rt Hon Alan (Sw'n W)

Williams, Alan W (Carmarthen)

Wilshire, David

Wilson, Brian

Winnick, David

Wise, Audrey

Worthington, Tony

Wright, Dr Tony

Yeo, Tim

Young, David (Bolton SE)

Young, Rt Hon Sir George

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. Harry Barnes and

Mr. John McAllion.

Question accordingly negatived.

The Chairman-- then put the Question necessary to dispose of another new clause relating to capital punishment which had been selected by him.

New Clause 4

Punishment for murder

(1) Subject to the following subsections the penalty for murder shall be death.

(2) No person aged under 18 years shall suffer the death penalty. (3) As soon as practicable following a sentence of death, a special sitting of the Court of Appeal shall be convened to consider whether the circumstances of either

(a) the commission of the offence or

(b) the offender

whether or not such circumstances were adduced in evidence at the trial, are such as would justify the substitution of a sentence of life imprisonment in place of the sentence of death.'.-- [Mrs. Peacock.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time :

The Committee divided : Ayes 159, Noes 403.

Division No. 135] [6.52 pm


Allason, Rupert (Torbay)

Amess, David

Arbuthnot, James

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Arnold, Sir Thomas (Hazel Grv)

Atkinson, Peter (Hexham)

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset North)

Banks, Matthew (Southport)

Batiste, Spencer

Beggs, Roy

Bendall, Vivian

Blackburn, Dr John G.

Bonsor, Sir Nicholas

Bowden, Andrew

Boyson, Rt Hon Sir Rhodes

Brazier, Julian

Bruce, Ian (S Dorset)

Burns, Simon

Carlisle, John (Luton North)

Carrington, Matthew

Carttiss, Michael

Cash, William

Chapman, Sydney

Clappison, James

Clark, Dr Michael (Rochford)

Clifton-Brown, Geoffrey

Conway, Derek

Coombs, Anthony (Wyre For'st)

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Cran, James

Davies, Quentin (Stamford)

Davis, David (Boothferry)

Day, Stephen

Devlin, Tim

Dickens, Geoffrey

Dicks, Terry

Dover, Den

Duncan-Smith, Iain

Dunn, Bob

Durant, Sir Anthony

Emery, Rt Hon Sir Peter

Evans, David (Welwyn Hatfield)

Evans, Nigel (Ribble Valley)

Evans, Roger (Monmouth)

Evennett, David

Fabricant, Michael

Fenner, Dame Peggy

Forsyth, Michael (Stirling)

Forsythe, Clifford (Antrim S)

Forth, Eric

Fox, Sir Marcus (Shipley)

French, Douglas

Fry, Sir Peter

Gale, Roger

Next Section

  Home Page