Previous Section Home Page

(b) any shop in respect of which a notice under paragraph 9(1) of Schedule 2 to this Act (shops occupied by persons observing the Jewish Sabbath) has effect'.-- [Mr. Peter Lloyd.]

Schedule 1

Restrictions on Sunday Opening of Large Shops

Amendment proposed, No. 38, in page 3, line 45, leave out from shop' to end of line 46 and insert


(in respect of any Sunday other than a Sunday specified in sub-paragraph (b) below, before 1 pm, and)

Column 369

(b) in respect of any Sunday falling within the period in any year commencing with 27th November and ending with 24th December, before 4 pm.'.-- [Sir John Hannam.]

Question put, That the amendment be made :--

The House proceeded to a Division--

Madam Speaker : Order. I should be glad if the Serjeant would ensure that the Lobby doors are clear so that hon. Members are able to vote. I should like a report as soon as the Division is over. The House having divided : Ayes 258, Noes 308.

Division No. 142] [7.50 pm


Abbott, Ms Diane

Adams, Mrs Irene

Ainger, Nick

Ainsworth, Robert (Cov'try NE)

Alison, Rt Hon Michael (Selby)

Allen, Graham

Alton, David

Amess, David

Anderson, Donald (Swansea E)

Arnold, Sir Thomas (Hazel Grv)

Ashton, Joe

Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Valley)

Banks, Tony (Newham NW)

Barnes, Harry

Battle, John

Beggs, Roy

Beith, Rt Hon A. J.

Bell, Stuart

Bendall, Vivian

Benn, Rt Hon Tony

Bennett, Andrew F.

Benton, Joe

Bermingham, Gerald

Berry, Dr. Roger

Blunkett, David

Boateng, Paul

Body, Sir Richard

Boswell, Tim

Bowden, Andrew

Boyson, Rt Hon Sir Rhodes

Bray, Dr Jeremy

Brazier, Julian

Butterfill, John

Byers, Stephen

Caborn, Richard

Callaghan, Jim

Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge)

Campbell, Ronnie (Blyth V)

Campbell-Savours, D. N.

Cann, Jamie

Carlisle, John (Luton North)

Cash, William

Channon, Rt Hon Paul

Churchill, Mr

Clapham, Michael

Clarke, Eric (Midlothian)

Clarke, Tom (Monklands W)

Cohen, Harry

Connarty, Michael

Cook, Frank (Stockton N)

Cope, Rt Hon Sir John

Corbett, Robin

Corbyn, Jeremy

Cormack, Patrick

Corston, Ms Jean

Cousins, Jim

Cox, Tom

Cryer, Bob

Cunningham, Jim (Covy SE)

Dafis, Cynog

Dalyell, Tam

Davidson, Ian

Davies, Rt Hon Denzil (Llanelli)

Davies, Quentin (Stamford)

Davis, Terry (B'ham, H'dge H'l)

Day, Stephen

Denham, John

Deva, Nirj Joseph

Dixon, Don

Dobson, Frank

Donohoe, Brian H.

Dunnachie, Jimmy

Dunwoody, Mrs Gwyneth

Dykes, Hugh

Eastham, Ken

Emery, Rt Hon Sir Peter

Enright, Derek

Etherington, Bill

Evans, John (St Helens N)

Evans, Roger (Monmouth)

Evennett, David

Fatchett, Derek

Faulds, Andrew

Field, Frank (Birkenhead)

Forman, Nigel

Forsythe, Clifford (Antrim S)

Foster, Rt Hon Derek

Foulkes, George

Fraser, John

French, Douglas

Galbraith, Sam

Gale, Roger

Galloway, George

Gapes, Mike

Garrett, John

George, Bruce

Godman, Dr Norman A.

Godsiff, Roger

Golding, Mrs Llin

Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles

Gordon, Mildred

Graham, Thomas

Grant, Sir A. (Cambs SW)

Grant, Bernie (Tottenham)

Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)

Griffiths, Win (Bridgend)

Grocott, Bruce

Grylls, Sir Michael

Hain, Peter

Hall, Mike

Hanson, David

Hardy, Peter

Hargreaves, Andrew

Harris, David

Heppell, John

Higgins, Rt Hon Sir Terence L.

Hinchliffe, David

Hoey, Kate

Home Robertson, John

Hood, Jimmy

Howarth, George (Knowsley N)

Howell, Sir Ralph (N Norfolk)

Hughes Robert G. (Harrow W)

Hughes, Roy (Newport E)

Hunter, Andrew

Illsley, Eric

Jackson, Glenda (H'stead)

Jackson, Helen (Shef'ld, H)

Next Section

  Home Page