Previous Section Home Page

Column 568

helping to reduce the cost of congestion to industry. All the schemes have been subject to full environmental assessment and have been designed in accordance with the latest techniques to minimise the impact on the environment. The planned starts include six bypasses particularly designed to remove traffic from town and village centres.

Three of the planned starts and two of the reserve starts are being progressed under design and build contracts, where the contractor is responsible for both scheme design and construction. These contracts offer increased certainty over timing and cost and greater efficiency of design.

The 22 new starts are in addition to the current construction programme. There are over 50 contracts currently under way. In 1994-95 we estimate total expenditure on new construction will be some £1.3 billion.

Arundel Bypass

Sir Michael Marshall : To ask the Secretary of State for Transport what the proposed date is for commencement of work on the construction of the A27 Arundel bypass.

Mr. Key [holding answer 24 February 1994] : Start of construction of the A27 Arundel bypass will depend on the completion of statutory procedures, the outcome of the current review of the roads programme, and the availability of funds.


Health and Social Services Trusts

Mr. Kilfoyle : To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland who are the members currently appointed to each of the health and social services trusts in Northern Ireland.

Mr. Ancram : My right hon. and learned Friend has approved the following appointments to the boards of health and social services trusts :

Royal Group of Hospitals HSS Trust--


Dr. William George Quigley CB

Non-executive directors

Dr. George Alexander Baird

John Carson Esq.

Alan Johnston Gibson Esq.

Paul McWilliams

Sister Mary Turley

Belfast City Hospital HSS Trust--


G. Henry Moore Esq.

Non-executive directors

Danny Carty Esq.

Harold Ennis Esq.

Mrs. Catherine Francis (Pip) Jaffa

Wilfred Mulryne Esq.

Professor Robert G. Shanks

Down Lisburn HSS Trust--


Mrs. Gillian Shaw

Non-executive directors

Albert S. Baird Esq.

Mrs. Anne Marie Colgan

Mark Ennis Esq.

Mrs. Denise Fitzsimons

Alfred Linehan Esq.

Column 569

Eastern Ambulance Service HSS Trust--


G. Ivor Oswald Esq. OBE

Non-executive directors

Brian Carlin Esq.

Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Fulton

Ernest George Taylor Esq.

Green Park Hss Trust--


Norman Shaw Esq.

Non-executive directors

Sir Kenneth Percy Bloomfield

Lord Alan Henry Brookenborough

Ian Doherty Esq.

Mrs. Christine Lynch

Rollo McClure Esq.

North Downs and Ards HSS Trust--


Jim Shields Esq.

Non-executive directors

Mrs. Ann R. Bagnall

Eric D. Carson Esq.

Charles Coleman Esq.

Mrs. Eileen Siobhan Grant

Stanley McDowell Esq.

North and West Belfast HSS Trust--


Gordon Burnison OBE Esq.

Non-executive directors

Thomas Connolly Esq.

Mrs. Judith M. Eve

Mrs. Anne M. Maguire

Ronald E. Moore Esq.

David Russell Esq.

South and East Belfast HSS Trust--


Mrs. Brenda McLaughlin

Non-executive directors

Peter Fleming Esq.

Gerald F. Gilpin Esq.

Robin Harris Esq.

Professor Simon Lee

Mrs. Georgina Poulter-Brown

Ulster North Down and Ards Hospitals Trust--


Sir Dennis Faulkner

Non-executive directors

Mrs. Joan Cynthia Baxter

Mrs. Lucinda Blakiston-Houston

David de Bohun Chamberlain Esq.

George Harkness Esq.

Barry McBride Esq.

Craigavon Area Hospitals HSS Trust--


Noel Stewart Esq.

Non-executive directors

Professor Michael Connolly

Mrs. Anne Eimear Cullen

David Hall Esq.

Archie Mckelvey Esq.

Mrs. Cecilia M. Woods

Craigavon and Banbridge HSS Trust--


David Somerville Cook Esq.

Non-executive directors

Column 570

Not yet appointed

Newry and Mourne HSS Trust--


John Francis McEvoy Esq.

Non-executive directors

Walter Cosgrove Esq.

Mrs. Delia Cunningham

George Graham Esq.

Fergal McCormack Esq.

Next Section

  Home Page