Previous Section Home Page

Mr. Donohoe : To ask the President of the Board of Trade, pursuant to his answer of 22 February, Official Report, columns 166-67, within which parliamentary constituency each of the post offices in Scotland converted to agency status between April 1989 and January 1994 lies.

Mr. McLoughlin : I understand from the Post Office that the parliamentary constituencies in which the post offices in Scotland converted to agency status between April 1989 and January 1994 are as follows :

Column 334

Post Office and Parliamentary Constituency

Alexandria --Dumbarton

Anstruther --Fife North East

Arbroath --Angus East

Banchory --Gordon

Banff --Banff and Buchan

Barrhead --Eastwood

Bearsden --Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Beith --Cunninghame North

Bishopbriggs --Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Bo'ness --Linlithgow

Blairgowrie --Tayside North

Brechin --Angus East

Brodick --Cunninghame North

Broughty Ferry-- Angus East

Broxburn-- Livingston

Bruntsfield-- Edinburgh South

Buckhaven-- Fife Central

Buckie-- Moray

Burns Statue Ayr-- Ayr

Burntisland-- Kirkcaldy

Campbeltown-- Argyll and Bute

Carnoustie-- Angus East

Cathcart-- Glasgow Cathcart

Coldstream-- Rosburgh and Berwickshire

Cowdenbeath-- Dunfermline East

Crieff-- Perth and Kinross

Cumnock-- Carrick Cumnock and Doon Valley

Cupar-- Fife North East

Dalbeattie-- Galloway and Upper Nithsdale

Dalmuir-- Clydebank and Milngavie

Dingwall-- Ross Cromarty and Skye

Dunbar-- East Lothian

Dunblane-- Stirling

Dunoon-- Argyll and Bute

Duns-- Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Ellon-- Gordon

Forfar-- Tayside North

Forres-- Moray

Forrest Road-- Edinburgh Central

Fraserburgh-- Banff and Buchan

George Street Aberdeen-- Not indentified

Girvan-- Ayr

Glasgow Airport-- Renfrew West and Inverclyde

Gourock-- Renfrew West and Inverclyde

Grangemouth-- Falkirk East

Grantown on Spey-- Inverness Nairn and Lochaber

Hawick-- Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Helensburgh-- Dumbarton

Hillhead --Glasgow Hillhead

Huntly --Gordon

Invergordon --Ross Cromarty and Skye

Inverurie --Inverness Nairn and Lochaber

Jamaica Street --Cunninghame North

Jeburgh --Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Johnstone --Paisley South

Kelso --Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Kelvinbrige --Glasgow Maryhill

Kilmacolm --Renfrew West and Inverclyde

Kilsyth --Cumbernauld and Kilsyth

Kinross --Perth and Kinross

Kirkcudbright --Galloway and Upper Nithsdale

Kirriemuir --Tayside North

Kyle of Lochalsh --Ross Cromarty and Skye

Lairg --Caithness and Sutherland

Larkhall --Clydesdale

Lanark --Clydesdale

Largs --Cunninghame North

Leith --Edinburgh Leith

Leith Walk --Edinburgh Leith

Leven --Fife Central

Lochee --Dundee West

Lochgelly --Dunfermline East

Lochgilphead --Argyll and Bute

Lockerbie --Dumfries

Lossiemouth --Moray

Maryhill --Glasgow Maryhill

Maybole --Ayr

Melrose --Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale

Column 335

Moffat --Dumfries

Montrose --Angus East

Musselburgh --East Lothian

Nairn --Inverness Nairn and Lochaber

Newton Stewart --Galloway and Upper Nithsdale

Newlands Glasgow --Not Identified

North Berwick --East Lothian

Norton Park --Edinburgh East

Oban --Argyll and Bute

Parkhead --Glasgow Shettleston

Peebles --Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale

Penicuik --Midlothian

Pitlochry --Perth and Kinross

Pollock --Glasgow Pollock

Port Ellen --Argyll and Bute

Port Glasgow --Greenock and port Glasgow

Portobello --Edinburgh East

Portree --Ross Cromarty and Skye

Prestonpans --East Lothian

Prestwick --Ayr

Rothesay --Argyll and Bute

Selkirk --Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale

Shawlands --Glasgow Pollock

Shotts --Motherwell North

St. George's Cross --Glasgow Maryhill

St. Rollox --Glasgow Central

Stevenston --Cunninghame North

Stonehaven --Kincardine and Deeside

Strathaven --East Kilbride

Stromness --Orkney and Shetland

Tain --Ross Cromarty and Skye

Tollcross --Edinburgh Central

Tranent --East Lothian

Troon --Ayr

Turriff --Banff and Buchan

Uddingston --Hamilton

West Kilbride --Cunninghame North

Next Section

  Home Page