Previous Section Home Page

Column 341

practice of informing only those complainants against whom no action had been taken were introduced, it could clearly be inferred that complainants who were not so informed had been the subject of action by an agency. Security would therefore be jeopardised. Accordingly, in the Government's view, almost any practice of disclosure to a complainant would in the long term damage national security. That would make the amendment ineffective, if not arguably dangerous, and for that reason I cannot commend it to the House. Question put, That the amendment be made :

The House divided : Ayes 87, Noes 258.

Division No. 225] [10.30 pm


Ainsworth, Robert (Cov'try NE)

Banks, Tony (Newham NW)

Barnes, Harry

Beith, Rt Hon A. J.

Blunkett, David

Boyes, Roland

Bradley, Keith

Byers, Stephen

Caborn, Richard

Callaghan, Jim

Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge)

Campbell, Ronnie (Blyth V)

Carlile, Alexander (Montgomry)

Chisholm, Malcolm

Clarke, Eric (Midlothian)

Cohen, Harry

Connarty, Michael

Cook, Frank (Stockton N)

Cook, Robin (Livingston)

Corbyn, Jeremy

Cousins, Jim

Cox, Tom

Cunliffe, Lawrence

Cunningham, Jim (Covy SE)

Davidson, Ian

Davis, Terry (B'ham, H'dge H'l)

Dixon, Don

Dowd, Jim

Eastham, Ken

Etherington, Bill

Foster, Rt Hon Derek

Foster, Don (Bath)

Fyfe, Maria

Gilbert, Rt Hon Dr John

Godman, Dr Norman A.

Graham, Thomas

Grant, Bernie (Tottenham)

Griffiths, Win (Bridgend)

Gunnell, John

Hanson, David

Hinchliffe, David

Home Robertson, John

Howarth, George (Knowsley N)

Howells, Dr. Kim (Pontypridd)

Jones, Lynne (B'ham S O)

Jones, Nigel (Cheltenham)

Kilfoyle, Peter

Lewis, Terry

Llwyd, Elfyn

Loyden, Eddie

Lynne, Ms Liz

Macdonald, Calum

McFall, John

Mackinlay, Andrew

McWilliam, John

Maddock, Mrs Diana

Mahon, Alice

Mandelson, Peter

Martin, Michael J. (Springburn)

Maxton, John

Michael, Alun

Milburn, Alan

Miller, Andrew

Morley, Elliot

Mullin, Chris

O'Brien, Michael (N W'kshire)

O'Brien, William (Normanton)

Pike, Peter L.

Powell, Ray (Ogmore)

Prentice, Ms Bridget (Lew'm E)

Prentice, Gordon (Pendle)

Primarolo, Dawn

Randall, Stuart

Raynsford, Nick

Redmond, Martin

Reid, Dr John

Roche, Mrs. Barbara

Rogers, Allan

Sheerman, Barry

Short, Clare

Simpson, Alan

Skinner, Dennis

Wardell, Gareth (Gower)

Wicks, Malcolm

Winnick, David

Wise, Audrey

Young, David (Bolton SE)

Tellers for the Ayes :

Mr. Eric Illsley and

Mr. Gordon McMaster.


Ainsworth, Peter (East Surrey)

Alexander, Richard

Alison, Rt Hon Michael (Selby)

Allason, Rupert (Torbay)

Amess, David

Arbuthnot, James

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Arnold, Sir Thomas (Hazel Grv)

Ashby, David

Aspinwall, Jack

Atkinson, David (Bour'mouth E)

Atkinson, Peter (Hexham)

Baker, Rt Hon K. (Mole Valley)

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset North)

Baldry, Tony

Banks, Matthew (Southport)

Banks, Robert (Harrogate)

Beggs, Roy

Bellingham, Henry

Biffen, Rt Hon John

Body, Sir Richard

Bonsor, Sir Nicholas

Booth, Hartley

Boswell, Tim

Bottomley, Peter (Eltham)

Bowden, Andrew

Bowis, John

Brandreth, Gyles

Next Section

  Home Page