Previous Section Home Page

Column 512

Clifton-Brown, Geoffrey

Conway, Derek

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Cran, James

Davies, Quentin (Stamford)

Deva, Nirj Joseph

Devlin, Tim

Duncan, Alan

Duncan-Smith, Iain

Dykes, Hugh

Elletson, Harold

Evans, Jonathan (Brecon)

Evans, Nigel (Ribble Valley)

Fabricant, Michael

Fenner, Dame Peggy

Fishburn, Dudley

Forman, Nigel

Fox, Dr Liam (Woodspring)

Freeman, Rt Hon Roger

French, Douglas

Gallie, Phil

Gardiner, Sir George

Garel-Jones, Rt Hon Tristan

Garnier, Edward

Gillan, Cheryl

Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles

Gorman, Mrs Teresa

Gorst, Sir John

Grant, Sir A. (Cambs SW)

Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)

Greenway, John (Ryedale)

Griffiths, Peter (Portsmouth, N)

Grylls, Sir Michael

Hague, William

Hamilton, Rt Hon Sir Archie

Hampson, Dr Keith

Harris, David

Hawksley, Warren

Heald, Oliver

Hendry, Charles

Heseltine, Rt Hon Michael

Hicks, Robert

Hill, James (Southampton Test)

Howell, Sir Ralph (N Norfolk)

Hughes Robert G. (Harrow W)

Hunt, Sir John (Ravensbourne)

Jenkin, Bernard

Jessel, Toby

Kellett-Bowman, Dame Elaine

Kilfedder, Sir James

Kirkhope, Timothy

Knapman, Roger

Knight, Greg (Derby N)

Kynoch, George (Kincardine)

Lait, Mrs Jacqui

Lawrence, Sir Ivan

Legg, Barry

Lidington, David

MacKay, Andrew

Maitland, Lady Olga

Malone, Gerald

Martin, David (Portsmouth S)

Merchant, Piers

Mills, Iain

Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling)

Mitchell, Sir David (Hants NW)

Moate, Sir Roger

Neubert, Sir Michael

Nicholls, Patrick

Ottaway, Richard

Patnick, Irvine

Pattie, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey

Peacock, Mrs Elizabeth

Pickles, Eric

Rathbone, Tim

Richards, Rod

Riddick, Graham

Roberts, Rt Hon Sir Wyn

Robertson, Raymond (Ab'd'n S)

Robinson, Mark (Somerton)

Ryder, Rt Hon Richard

Shaw, David (Dover)

Shephard, Rt Hon Gillian

Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)

Sims, Roger

Speed, Sir Keith

Spencer, Sir Derek

Spink, Dr Robert

Sproat, Iain

Stephen, Michael

Stern, Michael

Stewart, Allan

Streeter, Gary

Sweeney, Walter

Sykes, John

Taylor, Ian (Esher)

Taylor, John M. (Solihull)

Thomason, Roy

Thompson, Sir Donald (C'er V)

Thompson, Patrick (Norwich N)

Tredinnick, David

Twinn, Dr Ian

Vaughan, Sir Gerard

Viggers, Peter

Walden, George

Wardle, Charles (Bexhill)

Waterson, Nigel

Watts, John

Wells, Bowen

Whittingdale, John

Willetts, David

Wilshire, David

Wood, Timothy

Tellers for the Noes :

Mr. David Lightbown and

Mr. Sydney Chapman.

Question accordingly negatived.

Question , That the proposed words be there added, put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No.30 (Questions on amendments) and agreed to.

Madam Deputy Speaker-- forthwith declared the main Question, as amended, to be agreed to .

Resolved ,

That this House congratulates the Government on its comprehensive housing policies to meet the needs and aspirations of the people of Wales ; welcomes in particular the high and increasing level of home ownership in Wales ; supports measures to promote wider home ownership ; notes the high level of investment by Tai Cymru since 1989 which has exceeded £1 billion and produced nearly 22,000 homes ; welcomes the attraction of substantial private funding to the housing association programme enabling greater diversity and choice ; and rejects the call for the establishment of a Parliament for Wales which would create an unnecessary tier of Government and would waste resources.

Next Section

  Home Page