Previous Section Home Page

Column 1507

Column 1507

Question accordingly agreed to.


Motion made, and Question put ,

That, during the present Session of Parliament, the following provision shall have effect in place of Standing Order No. 45A (Short speeches):

"The Speaker may announce at the commencement of proceedings on any motion or order of the day relating to public business that she intends to call Members to speak for not more than ten minutes in the debate thereon, or between certain hours during that debate, and whenever the Speaker has made such an announcement she may direct any Member (other than a Minister of the Crown, a Member speaking on behalf of the Leader of the Opposition, or not more than one Member nominated by the leader of the second largest opposition party) who has spoken for ten minutes to resume his seat forthwith.".-- [Mr. Wood.]

The House divided: Ayes 201, Noes 29.

Division No. 31] [23.00 pm


Column 1507

Ainsworth, Peter (East Surrey)

Aitken, Rt Hon Jonathan

Alexander, Richard

Alison, Rt Hon Michael (Selby)

Amess, David

Anderson, Ms Janet (Ros'dale)

Arbuthnot, James

Armstrong, Hilary

Arnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Atkins, Robert

Atkinson, Peter (Hexham)

Austin-Walker, John

Baker, Nicholas (Dorset North)

Banks, Tony (Newham NW)

Bates, Michael

Battle, John

Bayley, Hugh

Beith, Rt Hon A J

Beresford, Sir Paul

Bermingham, Gerald

Betts, Clive

Bonsor, Sir Nicholas

Boswell, Tim

Bottomley, Peter (Eltham)

Bottomley, Rt Hon Virginia

Bowis, John

Boyes, Roland

Brandreth, Gyles

Bright, Sir Graham

Browning, Mrs. Angela

Column 1507

Burns, Simon

Butler, Peter

Byers, Stephen

Callaghan, Jim

Campbell-Savours, D N

Carrington, Matthew

Channon, Rt Hon Paul

Chapman, Sydney

Church, Judith

Clappison, James

Clark, Dr David (South Shields)

Clarke, Rt Hon Kenneth (Ru'clif)

Coe, Sebastian

Coffey, Ann

Conway, Derek

Coombs, Simon (Swindon)

Cope, Rt Hon Sir John

Corston, Jean

Curry, David (Skipton & Ripon)

Davies, Bryan (Oldham C'tral)

Dicks, Terry

Dobson, Frank

Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James

Dover, Den

Dowd, Jim

Duncan, Alan

Eagle, Ms Angela

Emery, Rt Hon Sir Peter

Enright, Derek

Evans, Jonathan (Brecon)

Column 1508

Evans, Nigel (Ribble Valley)

Faber, David

Fabricant, Michael

Fatchett, Derek

Forman, Nigel

Forsyth, Michael (Stirling)

Forth, Eric

Foster, Rt Hon Derek

Foster, Don (Bath)

Fox, Dr Liam (Woodspring)

Freeman, Rt Hon Roger

French, Douglas

Gapes, Mike

Garnier, Edward

Gillan, Cheryl

Goodlad, Rt Hon Alastair

Goodson-Wickes, Dr Charles

Gordon, Mildred

Gorman, Mrs. Teresa

Greenway, Harry (Ealing N)

Greenway, John (Ryedale)

Griffiths, Win (Bridgend)

Gummer, Rt Hon John Selwyn

Gunnell, John

Hague, William

Hall, Mike

Hanson, David

Harris, David

Heald, Oliver

Heathcoat-Amory, David

Henderson, Doug

Hendry, Charles

Heseltine, Rt Hon Michael

Hill, Keith (Streatham)

Hodge, Margaret

Howarth, George (Knowsley N)

Hughes, Kevin (Doncaster N)

Hughes, Robert G (Harrow W)

Hunt, Rt Hon David (Wirral W)

Jackson, Glenda (H'stead)

Jackson, Helen (Shef'ld, H)

Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)

Jones, Jon Owen (Cardiff C)

Jones, Robert B (W Hertfdshr)

Jowell, Tessa

Kennedy, Jane (Lpool Brdgn)

Kilfedder, Sir James

Kirkwood, Archy

Knight, Mrs Angela (Erewash)

Knight, Greg (Derby N)

Kynoch, George (Kincardine)

Lait, Mrs Jacqui

Lawrence, Sir Ivan

Lidington, David

Lightbown, David

Lilley, Rt Hon Peter

Luff, Peter

McFall, John

MacGregor, Rt Hon John

MacKay, Andrew

Malone, Gerald

Mans, Keith

Marek, Dr John

Marshall, John (Hendon S)

Marshall, Sir Michael (Arundel)

Merchant, Piers

Miller, Andrew

Mills, Iain

Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling)

Mitchell, Austin (Gt Grimsby)

Mullin, Chris

Needham, Rt Hon Richard

Nelson, Anthony

Next Section

  Home Page