Competition Bill [H.L.] - continued        House of Commons

back to previous text

Relevant functions
     1. In section 55(3) "relevant functions" means any function under-
    (a) Part I or any enactment repealed in consequence of Part I;
    (b) the Fair Trading Act 1973 (c. 41) or the Competition Act 1980 (c. 21);
    (c) the Estate Agents Act 1979 (c. 38);
    (d) the Telecommunications Act 1984 (c. 12);
    (e) the Gas Act 1986 (c. 44) or the Gas Act 1995 (c. 45);
    (f) the Gas (Northern Ireland) Order 1996;
    (g) the Airports Act 1986 (c. 31) or Part IV of the Airports (Northern Ireland) Order 1994;
    (h) the Financial Services Act 1986 (c. 60);
    (i) the Electricity Act 1989 (c. 29) or the Electricity (Northern Ireland) Order 1992;
    (j) the Broadcasting Act 1990 (c. 42) or the Broadcasting Act 1996 (c. 55);
    (k) the Courts and Legal Services Act 1990 (c. 41);
    (l) the Water Industry Act 1991 (c. 56), the Water Resources Act 1991 (c. 57), the Statutory Water Companies Act 1991 (c. 58), the Land Drainage Act 1991 (c. 59) and the Water Consolidation (Consequential Provisions) Act 1991 (c. 60);
    (m) the Railways Act 1993 (c. 43);
    (n) the Coal Industry Act 1994 (c. 21);
    (o) the EC Competition Law (Articles 88 and 89) Enforcement Regulations 1996;
    (p) any subordinate legislation made (whether before or after the passing of this Act) for the purpose of implementing the Council Directive of 29th July 1991 (No 91/440/EEC) on the development of the Community's railways, the Council Directive of 19th June 1995 (No 95/18/EC) on the licensing of railway undertakings or the Council Directive of 19th June 1995 (No 95/19/EC) on the allocation of railway infrastructure capacity and the charging of infrastructure fees.
Designated persons
     2. In section 55(3) "designated person" means any of the following-
    (a) the Director;
    (b) the Director General of Telecommunications;
    (c) the Independent Television Commission;
    (d) the Director General of Gas Supply;
    (e) the Director General of Gas for Northern Ireland;
    (f) the Civil Aviation Authority;
    (g) the Director General of Water Services;
    (h) the Director General of Electricity Supply;
    (i) the Director General of Electricity Supply for Northern Ireland;
    (j) the Rail Regulator;
    (k) the Director of Passenger Rail Franchising;
    (l) the International Rail Regulator;
    (m) the Authorised Conveyancing Practitioners Board;
    (n) the Scottish Conveyancing and Executry Services Board;
    (o) the Coal Authority;
    (p) the Monopolies and Mergers Commission;
    (q) the Competition Commission;
    (r) the Securities and Investments Board;
    (s) any Minister of the Crown or any Northern Ireland department.
previous section contents continue
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1998
Prepared 29 June 1998