9 May 1997 : Column 23

House of Commons

Friday 9 May 1997

The House met at half-past Nine o'clock


[Madam Speaker in the Chair]

Madam Speaker: I hope that it will be possible this morning for all those Members who wish to do so to take the oath or to affirm without the need for any suspension of our proceedings. I intend to finish not later than noon. Before those elected for the first time last week come forward, I will take Members from earlier Parliaments who are present, and I see that there are quite a few.

Members Sworn

The following Members took and subscribed the Oath, or made and subscribed the Affirmation required by law:

Glenda May Jackson, CBE, Hampstead and Highgate

Terence Lewis, esquire, Worsley

Right honourable John Alan Redwood, Wokingham

Richard Geoffrey James Ottaway, esquire, Croydon, South

John Quentin Davies, esquire, Grantham and Stamford

Peter David Robinson, esquire, Belfast, East

Peter James Luff, esquire, Mid-Worcestershire

Nigel Martin Evans, esquire, Ribble Valley

John Rhodes Horam, esquire, Orpington

Sir Alexander Paul Beresford, Mole Valley

Derek John Fatchett, esquire, Leeds, Central

Paul Peter Murphy, esquire, Torfaen

Ian McCartney, esquire, Makerfield

David Anthony Atkinson, esquire, Bournemouth, East

Edward Julian Egerton Leigh, esquire, Gainsborough

John Dominic Battle, esquire, Leeds, West

Joseph Alan Meale, esquire, Mansfield

David Anthony Andrew Amess, esquire, Southend, West

Ian Stewart, esquire, Eccles

Lindsay Harvey Hoyle, esquire, Chorley

Dr. Howard Geoffrey Alvin Stoate, Dartford

Beverley June Hughes, Stretford and Urmston

Linda Perham, Ilford, North

John Healey, esquire, Wentworth

Ronald Cyril Fearn, esquire, Southport

Louise Joyce Ellman, Liverpool, Riverside

Jacqueline Rita, Mrs. Lawrence, Preseli Pembrokeshire

Philip Hammond, esquire, Runnymede and Weybridge

Timothy Paul Loughton, esquire, Worthing, East and Shoreham

Candice Kathleen Atherton, Falmouth and Camborne

9 May 1997 : Column 24

Shaun Anthony Woodward, esquire, Witney

James Andrew Plaskitt, esquire, Warwick and Leamington

Dr. John Vincent Cable, Twickenham

Brian Joseph Cotter, esquire, Weston-super-Mare

Adrian Mark Sanders, esquire, Torbay

Sydney Norman John Rapson, esquire, Portsmouth, North

David William St. John Heath, esquire, Somerton and Frome

Timothy William George Collins, esquire, Westmorland and Lonsdale

William Ernest Rammell, esquire, Harlow

Mark Oaten, esquire, Winchester

Thomas Anthony Brake, esquire, Carshalton and Wallington

Fiona Margaret Mactaggart, Slough

Ivor Keith Caplin, esquire, Hove

Christopher Richard Pond, esquire, Gravesham

Gillian Joanna Merron, Lincoln

Kelvin Peter Hopkins, esquire, Luton, North

Theresa Mary, Mrs. May, Maidenhead

Graham Brady, esquire, Altrincham and Sale, West

Martin Philip Caton, esquire, Gower

John Simon Bercow, esquire, Buckingham

Stuart Bell, esquire, Middlesbrough

Right honourable Derek Foster, Bishop Auckland

Nicholas John Gibb, esquire, Bognor Regis and Littlehampton

Christopher Nigel Beard, esquire, Bexleyheath and Crayford

Stephen John Ladyman, esquire, South Thanet

Stephen Hepburn, esquire, Jarrow

Nicholas Francis St. Aubyn, esquire, Guildford

Alan Patrick Vincent Whitehead, esquire, Southampton, Test

Daphne Barbara Follett, Stevenage

Gisela Gschaider, Mrs. Stuart, Birmingham, Edgbaston

Brian David Jenkins, esquire, Tamworth

Patricia Hope Hewitt, Leicester, West

Jonathan Sayeed, esquire, Mid-Bedfordshire

Brian Arthur Robert White, esquire, Milton Keynes, North-East

Nicholas Douglas Palmer, esquire, Broxtowe

Ivan John Henderson, esquire, Harwich

Paul Gordon Clark, esquire, Gillingham

Lawrence William Quinn, esquire, Scarborough and Whitby

Alan Arthur Johnson, esquire, Kingston upon Hull, West and Hessle

Hywel Rhodri Morgan, esquire, Cardiff, West

Julie Morgan, Cardiff, North

Paul David Stinchcombe, esquire, Wellingborough

Steven John Byers, esquire, Tyneside, North

9 May 1997 : Column 25

Charles Rodway Clarke, esquire, Norwich, South

Claire Margaret Ward, Watford

Debra Ann Shipley, Stourbridge

Michael David Wills, esquire, North Swindon

Gwynfor Mathews Prosser, esquire, Dover

Charlotte Atkins, Staffordshire, Moorlands

10.10 am

Sitting suspended.

10.45 am

On resuming-- Eric Jack Pickles, esquire, Brentwood and Ongar Barry Strachan Gardiner, esquire, Brent, North Iain Coleman, esquire, Hammersmith and Fulham Right honourable Alan Kenneth McKenzie Clark, Kensington and Chelsea Margaret Moran, Luton, South Oona Tamsyn King, Bethnal Green and Bow Caroline Louise Flint, Don Valley Andrew Guy Tyrie, esquire, Chichester Philip James Woolas, esquire, Oldham, East and Saddleworth Stephen Twigg, esquire, Enfield, Southgate Dominic Charles Roberts Grieve, esquire, Beaconsfield David Roy Lidington, esquire, Aylesbury David Anthony Crausby, esquire, Bolton, North-East Philip Andrew Sawford, esquire, Kettering Eileen, Mrs. Gordon, Romford Andrew Love, esquire, Edmonton Geraint Richard Davies, esquire, Croydon, Central Robert Graham Marshall-Andrews, esquire, Medway

9 May 1997 : Column 26

David Lepper, esquire, Brighton, Pavilion Dr. John Reid, Hamilton, North and Bellshill

11 am

Sitting suspended.

11.45 am

On resuming-- Right honourable Sir Peter Norman Fowler, Sutton Coldfield John Martin Linton, esquire, Battersea Paul William Barry Marsden, esquire, Shrewsbury and Atcham David Laurie Ruffley, esquire, Bury St. Edmunds Piers Rolf Garfield Merchant, esquire, Beckenham Right honourable Andrew David Smith, esquire, Oxford, East Anthony Joseph Lloyd, esquire, Manchester, Central Judith Ann Church, Dagenham John Eric Austin, esquire, Erith and Thamesmead Norman John Baker, esquire, Lewes Desmond Angus Swayne, esquire, New Forest, West Trevor Keith Hill, esquire, Streatham Fiona Elizabeth Ann Jones, Newark Alun Edward Michael, esquire, Cardiff, South and Penarth Joan Marie Ryan, Enfield, North


Resolved, That this House do now adjourn till Tuesday 13 May at half-past Two o'clock.--[Mrs. Bridget Prentice.]

9 May 1997 : Column 25

 IndexHome Page