Previous SectionIndexHome Page

'(3) The power in subsection (1) is exercisable in relation to a person outside Scotland only in connection with the discharge by him of functions relating to matters within subsection (2).
(3A) That power is exercisable in relation to--
(a) a Minister of the Crown, or
(b) a person in Crown employment, within the meaning of section 191(3) of the Employment Rights Act 1996, other than a person mentioned in section 47(2) of this Act,
only in connection with the discharge by him of functions relating to matters within subsection (2) which are not functions mentioned in subsection (3B).

29 Jan 1998 : Column 599

(3B) Those functions are--
(a) functions exercisable in or as regards Scotland by a Minister of the Crown as well as by the Scottish Ministers, and
(b) in relation to matters within subsection (2)(b), functions exercisable by a Minister of the Crown with the agreement of, or after consultation with, the Scottish Ministers.'.

No. 225, in page 11, line 24, after 'matters', insert

'in connection with the discharge by him of those functions'.

No. 226, in page 12, line 3, at end insert--

'(9) A procurator fiscal is not obliged under this section to answer any question or produce any document relating to the operation of the system of criminal prosecution in any particular case if the Lord Advocate--
(a) considers that answering the question or producing the document might prejudice criminal proceedings in that case or would otherwise be contrary to the public interest, and
(b) has authorised the procurator fiscal to decline to answer the question or produce the document on that ground.'.--[Mr. McFall.]

Clause 23, as amended, ordered to stand part of the Bill.

Clause 24

Witnesses and documents: offences

Amendment made: No. 227, in page 12, line 15, after '23(8)', insert 'and (9)'.--[Mr. McFall.]
Clause 24, as amended, ordered to stand part of the Bill.
Clauses 25 and 26 ordered to stand part of the Bill.

Clause 27

Acts of the Scottish Parliament

Amendment proposed: No. 23, in page 13, line 31, at end add
'in relation to reserved matters'.--[Mr. Salmond.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-- The Committee divided: Ayes 24, Noes 239.

Division No. 144
[9.27 pm


Ballard, Mrs Jackie
Bruce, Malcolm (Gordon)
Burnett, John
Burstow, Paul
Campbell, Menzies (NE Fife)
Cotter, Brian
Cunningham, Ms Roseanna
Ewing, Mrs Margaret
Fearn, Ronnie
Foster, Don (Bath)
George, Andrew (St Ives)
Heath, David (Somerton & Frome)
Michie, Mrs Ray (Argyll & Bute)
Morgan, Alasdair (Galloway)
Öpik, Lembit
Rendel, David
Russell, Bob (Colchester)
Salmond, Alex
Smith, Sir Robert (W Ab'd'ns)
Stunell, Andrew
Swinney, John
Tonge, Dr Jenny
Wallace, James
Willis, Phil

Tellers for the Ayes:

Mr. Andrew Welsh and
Mr. Donald Gorrie.


Abbott, Ms Diane
Ainger, Nick
Ainsworth, Peter (E Surrey)
Ainsworth, Robert (Cov'try NE)
Alexander, Douglas
Allen, Graham
Ancram, Rt Hon Michael
Anderson, Janet (Rossendale)
Arbuthnot, James
Atkins, Charlotte
Austin, John
Banks, Tony
Battle, John
Bayley, Hugh
Beard, Nigel
Beckett, Rt Hon Mrs Margaret
Begg, Miss Anne
Benn, Rt Hon Tony
Bercow, John
Bermingham, Gerald
Best, Harold
Betts, Clive
Blackman, Liz
Blears, Ms Hazel
Boswell, Tim
Bradley, Keith (Withington)
Bradshaw, Ben
Brinton, Mrs Helen
Brown, Rt Hon Gordon
(Dunfermline E)
Brown, Russell (Dumfries)
Browne, Desmond
Burden, Richard
Butler, Mrs Christine
Byers, Stephen
Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge)
Caplin, Ivor
Cawsey, Ian
Chapman, Ben (Wirral S)
Chisholm, Malcolm
Clark, Paul (Gillingham)
Clarke, Charles (Norwich S)
Clarke, Eric (Midlothian)
Clarke, Rt Hon Tom (Coatbridge)
Clarke, Tony (Northampton S)
Clelland, David
Coffey, Ms Ann
Collins, Tim
Connarty, Michael
Cooper, Yvette
Corbyn, Jeremy
Corston, Ms Jean
Cranston, Ross
Cryer, John (Hornchurch)
Dalyell, Tam
Davidson, Ian
Davies, Rt Hon Denzil (Llanelli)
Davies, Geraint (Croydon C)
Dawson, Hilton
Dewar, Rt Hon Donald
Dismore, Andrew
Dobbin, Jim
Doran, Frank
Dowd, Jim
Drew, David
Drown, Ms Julia
Dunwoody, Mrs Gwyneth
Eagle, Angela (Wallasey)
Eagle, Maria (L'pool Garston)
Edwards, Huw
Efford, Clive
Evans, Nigel
Fisher, Mark
Fitzpatrick, Jim
Flint, Caroline
Forth, Rt Hon Eric
Foulkes, George
Fox, Dr Liam
Fyfe, Maria
Galbraith, Sam
Gale, Roger
Gapes, Mike
Gardiner, Barry
George, Bruce (Walsall S)
Godman, Norman A
Godsiff, Roger
Gordon, Mrs Eileen
Green, Damian
Grieve, Dominic
Griffiths, Jane (Reading E)
Griffiths, Nigel (Edinburgh S)
Grogan, John
Hain, Peter
Hall, Mike (Weaver Vale)
Hammond, Philip
Hanson, David
Heal, Mrs Sylvia
Heald, Oliver
Healey, John
Heppell, John
Hoon, Geoffrey
Hopkins, Kelvin
Howarth, Alan (Newport E)
Howarth, George (Knowsley N)
Howells, Dr Kim
Hughes, Ms Beverley (Stretford)
Hughes, Kevin (Doncaster N)
Humble, Mrs Joan
Hurst, Alan
Hutton, John
Jackson, Ms Glenda (Hampstead)
Jackson, Helen (Hillsborough)
Jenkin, Bernard
Johnson, Alan (Hull W & Hessle)
Jones, Helen (Warrington N)
Jones, Dr Lynne (Selly Oak)
Jowell, Ms Tessa
Keeble, Ms Sally
Keen, Alan (Feltham & Heston)
Keen, Ann (Brentford & Isleworth)
Kelly, Ms Ruth
Kennedy, Jane (Wavertree)
Khabra, Piara S
Kilfoyle, Peter
King, Andy (Rugby & Kenilworth)
Kingham, Ms Tess
Lansley, Andrew
Lewis, Dr Julian (New Forest E)
Lilley, Rt Hon Peter
Linton, Martin
Livingstone, Ken
Lloyd, Tony (Manchester C)
Lock, David
Love, Andrew
McAvoy, Thomas
McCabe, Steve
McCartney, Ian (Makerfield)
McDonagh, Siobhain
Macdonald, Calum
McDonnell, John
McGuire, Mrs Anne
McIsaac, Shona
McKenna, Mrs Rosemary
McLeish, Henry
Mactaggart, Fiona
McWalter, Tony
Mahon, Mrs Alice
Mallaber, Judy
Marek, Dr John
Marshall, Jim (Leicester S)
Marshall-Andrews, Robert
Merron, Gillian
Michael, Alun
Michie, Bill (Shef'ld Heeley)
Milburn, Alan
Miller, Andrew
Moffatt, Laura
Moonie, Dr Lewis
Moran, Ms Margaret
Morgan, Ms Julie (Cardiff N)
Morley, Elliot
Morris, Rt Hon John (Aberavon)
Mudie, George
Murphy, Denis (Wansbeck)
Murphy, Jim (Eastwood)
Murphy, Paul (Torfaen)
Norris, Dan
O'Brien, Mike (N Warks)
Olner, Bill
O'Neill, Martin
Osborne, Ms Sandra
Palmer, Dr Nick
Paterson, Owen
Pickthall, Colin
Plaskitt, James
Pollard, Kerry
Pond, Chris
Pope, Greg
Pound, Stephen
Powell, Sir Raymond
Prentice, Ms Bridget (Lewisham E)
Prentice, Gordon (Pendle)
Purchase, Ken
Quinn, Lawrie
Radice, Giles
Raynsford, Nick
Reid, Dr John (Hamilton N)
Roche, Mrs Barbara
Rooker, Jeff
Ross, Ernie (Dundee W)
Rowlands, Ted
Ruddock, Ms Joan
Russell, Ms Christine (Chester)
Ryan, Ms Joan
Salter, Martin
Savidge, Malcolm
Sayeed, Jonathan
Sedgemore, Brian
Shaw, Jonathan
Sheldon, Rt Hon Robert
Shipley, Ms Debra
Short, Rt Hon Clare
Simpson, Alan (Nottingham S)
Singh, Marsha
Skinner, Dennis
Smith, Rt Hon Andrew (Oxford E)
Smith, Angela (Basildon)
Smith, Rt Hon Chris (Islington S)
Soley, Clive
Southworth, Ms Helen
Spellar, John
Squire, Ms Rachel
Starkey, Dr Phyllis
Stewart, David (Inverness E)
Stewart, Ian (Eccles)
Stoate, Dr Howard
Swayne, Desmond
Syms, Robert
Taylor, Ms Dari (Stockton S)
Taylor, John M (Solihull)
Thomas, Gareth R (Harrow W)
Timms, Stephen
Touhig, Don
Turner, Dennis (Wolverh'ton SE)
Turner, Dr Desmond (Kemptown)
Twigg, Stephen (Enfield)
Walley, Ms Joan
Wareing, Robert N
White, Brian
Whitehead, Dr Alan
Wicks, Malcolm
Widdecombe, Rt Hon Miss Ann
Williams, Alan W (E Carmarthen)
Williams, Mrs Betty (Conwy)
Winnick, David
Wise, Audrey
Wood, Mike
Woolas, Phil
Wright, Dr Tony (Cannock)
Wyatt, Derek

Tellers for the Noes:

Mr. David Jamieson and
Mr. John McFall.

Question accordingly negatived.

29 Jan 1998 : Column 601

Clause 27 ordered to stand part of the Bill.

Next Section

IndexHome Page