Select Committee on Defence Fifth Report

The Defence Committee is appointed under Standing Order No 152 to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Defence and associated public bodies.

  The Committee consists of 11 Members, of whom the quorum is three. Unless the House otherwise orders, all Members nominated to the Committee continue to be members of it for the remainder of the Parliament.

  The Committee has power:

      (a)  to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time;

      (b)  to appoint specialist advisers either to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the Committee's order of reference;

      (c)  to communicate to any other committee appointed under the same Standing Order (and to the Committee of Public Accounts, to the Deregulation Committee and to the Environmental Audit Committee) its evidence and any other documents relating to matters of common interest;

      (d)  to meet concurrently with any other such committee for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence, or considering draft reports.

The membership of the Committee since its nomination on 14 July 1997 is as follows:

Mr Bruce George Mr Michael Colvin
Mr Crispin Blunt Mr Jimmy Hood
Mr Julian Brazier TD Mr John McWilliam
Mr Menzies Campbell CBE QC Mrs Laura Moffatt
Mr Jamie Cann Ms Dari Taylor
Mr Harry Cohen

Mr Bruce George was elected Chairman on 16 July 1997

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1998
Prepared 10 August 1998