Select Committee on Public Accounts Forty-Second Report

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed under Standing Order No. 148 viz:

Committee of Public Accounts

148.-  (1)  There shall be a select committee to be called the Committee of Public Accounts for the examination of the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit, to consist of not more than fifteen Members, of whom four shall be a quorum. The Committee shall have the power to send for persons, papers and records, to report from time to time, and to adjourn form place to place.

(2)  Unless the House otherwise orders, each Member nominated to the committee shall continue to be a member of it for the remainder of the Parliament.

(3)  The committee shall have power to communicate to any committee appointed under Standing Order No. 152 (Select committees related to government departments) such evidence as it may have received from the National Audit Office (having been agreed between the Office and the government department or departments concerned) but which has not been reported to the House.

28th October 1997

Ordered, That Standing Order No. 148 (Committee of Public Accounts) be amended, in line 7 [line 4 of this text], by leaving out the word "fifteen" and inserting the word "sixteen".

The following is a list of Members of the Committee at its nomination on 25 July 1997. The date of any later nomination, discharge or other change is shown in brackets.

    Rt Hon David Davis (elected Chairman 30 July 1997)
    Mr Alan Campbell
    Mr Geoffrey Clifton-Brown
    Mr Ian Davidson
    Mr Geraint Davies
    Ms Maria Eagle
    Ms Jane Griffiths
    Mr Phil Hope
    Mr Christopher Leslie
    Mr Andrew Love
    Rt Hon Robert Maclennan
    Ms Dawn Primarolo (added 30.10.97)
    Mr Richard Page
    Mr Charles Wardle
    Mr Dafydd Wigley (discharged 16.12.97)
    Rt Hon Alan Williams

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1998
Prepared 21 June 1998