Previous SectionIndexHome Page

Division No. 197
[10.24 pm


Ainsworth, Robert (Cov'try NE)
Allan, Richard
Allen, Graham
Atkins, Charlotte
Baker, Norman
Ballard, Jackie
Beckett, Rt Hon Mrs Margaret
Begg, Miss Anne
Beith, Rt Hon A J
Betts, Clive
Blackman, Liz
Blears, Ms Hazel
Bradley, Keith (Withington)
Bradshaw, Ben
Breed, Colin
Bruce, Malcolm (Gordon)
Burden, Richard
Caborn, Rt Hon Richard
Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge)
Campbell, Rt Hon Menzies
(NE Fife)
Campbell-Savours, Dale
Caplin, Ivor
Clark, Rt Hon Dr David (S Shields)
Clarke, Charles (Norwich S)
Clarke, Eric (Midlothian)
Clelland, David
Coaker, Vernon
Cohen, Harry
Connarty, Michael
Cotter, Brian
Cranston, Ross
Curtis-Thomas, Mrs Claire
Darvill, Keith
Davey, Edward (Kingston)
Davey, Valerie (Bristol W)
Dawson, Hilton
Dean, Mrs Janet
Dismore, Andrew
Donohoe, Brian H
Dowd, Jim
Drew, David
Eagle, Angela (Wallasey)
Eagle, Maria (L'pool Garston)
Efford, Clive
Emery, Rt Hon Sir Peter
Etherington, Bill
Fearn, Ronnie
Fitzpatrick, Jim
Fitzsimons, Lorna
Foster, Michael Jabez (Hastings)
Gapes, Mike
George, Bruce (Walsall S)
Gilroy, Mrs Linda
Goggins, Paul
Griffiths, Jane (Reading E)
Gunnell, John
Hall, Mike (Weaver Vale)
Hall, Patrick (Bedford)
Hancock, Mike
Hanson, David
Harvey, Nick
Heath, David (Somerton & Frome)
Heppell, John
Hope, Phil
Howarth, George (Knowsley N)
Hughes, Ms Beverley (Stretford)
Hughes, Simon (Southwark N)
Hutton, John
Iddon, Dr Brian
Illsley, Eric
Jackson, Helen (Hillsborough)
Jamieson, David
Jenkins, Brian
Johnson, Alan (Hull W & Hessle)
Johnson, Miss Melanie
(Welwyn Hatfield)
Jones, Ms Jenny
(Wolverh'ton SW)
Keeble, Ms Sally
Kemp, Fraser
King, Ms Oona (Bethnal Green)
Ladyman, Dr Stephen
Leslie, Christopher
Levitt, Tom
Linton, Martin
Livsey, Richard
Lloyd, Tony (Manchester C)
Lock, David
McAvoy, Thomas
Mackinlay, Andrew
McNamara, Kevin
McNulty, Tony
Mactaggart, Fiona
McWalter, Tony
Mahon, Mrs Alice
Marsden, Paul (Shrewsbury)
Marshall, Jim (Leicester S)
Maxton, John
Merron, Gillian
Michie, Bill (Shef'ld Heeley)
Moffatt, Laura
Moran, Ms Margaret
Mullin, Chris
Naysmith, Dr Doug
Oaten, Mark
Olner, Bill
Pickthall, Colin
Pike, Peter L
Pond, Chris
Pope, Greg
Prentice, Ms Bridget (Lewisham E)
Prescott, Rt Hon John
Purchase, Ken
Quinn, Lawrie
Rendel, David
Rowlands, Ted
Russell, Bob (Colchester)
Salter, Martin
Sanders, Adrian
Savidge, Malcolm
Sheerman, Barry
Simpson, Alan (Nottingham S)
Smith, Jacqui (Redditch)
Soley, Clive
Starkey, Dr Phyllis
Stoate, Dr Howard
Stuart, Ms Gisela
Stunell, Andrew
Taylor, Rt Hon Mrs Ann
Taylor, David (NW Leics)
Thomas, Gareth R (Harrow W)
Tipping, Paddy
Todd, Mark
Tonge, Dr Jenny
Touhig, Don
Turner, Dennis (Wolverh'ton SE)
Turner, Dr George (NW Norfolk)
Twigg, Derek (Halton)
Twigg, Stephen (Enfield)
Tyler, Paul
Walley, Ms Joan
Watts, David
Webb, Steve
Willis, Phil
Winterton, Ms Rosie (Doncaster C)
Wright, Dr Tony (Cannock)
Young, Rt Hon Sir George

Tellers for the Ayes:

Mr. Keith Hill and
Mr. Kevin Hughes.


Amess, David
Barnes, Harry
Bell, Martin (Tatton)
Blunt, Crispin
Brady, Graham
Colvin, Michael
Davis, Rt Hon David (Haltemprice & Howden)
Flight, Howard
Fox, Dr Liam
Fraser, Christopher
Gibb, Nick
Gill, Christopher
Gillan, Mrs Cheryl
Green, Damian
Hammond, Philip
Howarth, Gerald (Aldershot)
Leigh, Edward
Lidington, David
McIntosh, Miss Anne
Mawhinney, Rt Hon Sir Brian
Michie, Mrs Ray (Argyll & Bute)
Öpik, Lembit
Plaskitt, James
Randall, John
Robathan, Andrew
Smith, Sir Robert (W Ab'd'ns)
Stanley, Rt Hon Sir John
Swayne, Desmond
Taylor, John M (Solihull)
Taylor, Matthew (Truro)
Wardle, Charles
Waterson, Nigel
Whittingdale, John
Widdecombe, Rt Hon Miss Ann
Winterton, Mrs Ann (Congleton)
Winterton, Nicholas (Macclesfield)

Tellers for the Noes:

Mr. Eric Forth and
Mr. David Maclean.

Question accordingly agreed to.

24 May 1999 : Column 130


24 May 1999 : Column 131

Motion made, and Question put forthwith, pursuant to Order [21 May]:

    That in the next Session of Parliament the Standing Orders and practice of the House shall have effect subject to the modifications set out below:

    (1) On days on which the House shall sit there shall be a sitting in Westminster Hall--
    (a) on Tuesdays between ten o'clock and one o'clock;
    (b) on Wednesdays between half-past nine o'clock and two o'clock; and
    (c) on Thursdays beginning at half-past two o'clock and continuing for up to three hours (and in calculating that period no account shall be taken of any period during which the sitting may be suspended owing to a division being called in the House or a committee of the whole House).
    (2) Any Member of the House may take part in a sitting in Westminster Hall.
    (3) Subject to paragraph (12) below, the business taken at any sitting in Westminster Hall shall be such as the Chairman of Ways and Means shall appoint.
    (4) The Chairman of Ways and Means or a Deputy Chairman shall take the chair in Westminster Hall as Deputy Speaker; and the House may appoint not more than four other members of the Chairmen's Panel to sit in Westminster Hall as Deputy Speaker.
    (5) Any order made or resolution come to at a sitting in Westminster Hall (other than a resolution to adjourn) shall be reported to the House by the Deputy Speaker and shall be deemed to be an order or resolution of the House.
    (6) If a motion be made by a Minister of the Crown that an order of the day be proceeded with at a sitting in Westminster Hall, the question thereon shall be put forthwith, but such motion may be made only with the leave of the House and may not be made on a Friday.
    (7) The quorum at a sitting in Westminster Hall shall be three.
    (8) If at a sitting in Westminster Hall the opinion of the Deputy Speaker as to the decision of a question (other than a question for adjournment) is challenged, that question shall not be decided, and the Deputy Speaker shall report to the House accordingly; and any such question shall be put forthwith upon a motion being made in the House.
    (9) If any business other than a motion for adjournment is under consideration at a sitting in Westminster Hall, and not fewer than six Members rise in their places and signify their objection to further proceeding, that business shall not be further proceeded with in Westminster Hall, and the Deputy Speaker shall report to the House accordingly, and any order under paragraph (6) above relating thereto shall be discharged.
    (10) At the end of each sitting in Westminster Hall, unless a question for adjournment has previously been agreed to, the Deputy Speaker shall adjourn the sitting without putting any question; and proceedings on any business which has been entered upon but not disposed of shall lapse.
    (11) The provisions of Standing Orders No. 29 (Powers of chair to propose question), No. 36 (Closure of debate), No. 37 (Majority for closure or proposal of question), No. 38 (Procedure on divisions), No. 39 (Voting), No. 40 (Division unnecessarily claimed), No. 41 (Quorum), No. 43 (Disorderly conduct), No. 44 (Order in debate), No. 45 (Members suspended, &c. to withdraw from precincts), No. 45A (Suspension of salary of Members suspended) and No. 163 (Motions to sit in private) shall not apply to sittings in Westminster Hall.
    (12) The House shall meet on Wednesdays at half-past two o'clock, and paragraphs (1) and (2) of Standing Order No. 9 (Sittings of the House) shall have effect on Wednesdays; and Standing Order No. 10 (Wednesday sittings), so far as it relates to business taken before two o'clock, shall apply only to sitting in Westminster Hall, and shall have effect as if paragraph (3) were omitted. The House divided: Ayes 132, Noes 26.

24 May 1999 : Column 132

24 May 1999 : Column 133

Next Section

IndexHome Page