Select Committee on Environmental Audit Fifth Report

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed under Standing Order 152(A) to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development, to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty's Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

The Committee consists of sixteen Members. It has a quorum of four. Unless the House otherwise orders, all Members nominated to the Committee continue to be members of it for the remainder of the Parliament.

    The Committee has power:

      (a)  to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time;  

      (b)  to appoint specialist advisers to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the committee's order of reference;

      (c)  to communicate its evidence and any other documents relating to matters of common interest to any committee appointed by this House or by the Lords; and

      (d)  to meet concurrently with any committee appointed under Standing Order No. 152 (Select committees related to government departments), or any sub-committee thereof, or with the European Scrutiny Committee or any sub-committee thereof, or with any committee appointed by the Lords, or any sub-committee thereof, for the purposes of deliberating or examining witnesses.

The membership of the Committee since first appointment on 12th November 1997.

Chairman: Mr John Horam

Mr Norman BakerMr Laurence Robertson
   (appointed 2 December) Mr Malcolm Savidge
Mr Bob BlizzardMr Mr Jonathan R. Shaw
Mrs Helen BrintonMr Matthew Taylor
Mr Cynog Dafis   (appointed 17 November,
   (appointed 17 November)    discharged 2 December)
Mr Dominic GrieveMr Gareth R. Thomas
Dr Brian IddonMr Paul Truswell
Mr Tim LoughtonJoan Walley
Rt Hon Michael Meacher
   (appointed 19 December)*

*The Minister for the Environment has ex-officio membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary's membership of the Committee of Public Accounts.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 13 May 1999