Select Committee on Environment, Transport and Regional Affairs Appendices to the Minutes of Evidence



  The Fast Tracks to Europe Alliance is a grouping of private, public and voluntary organisations campaigning for the development of fast, quality links into the European high speed rail network for both passengers and freight and for all regions of Britain.

  To begin with, it seeks the building of the Channel Tunnel Rail Link as planned in the 1996 Act with the incorporation of the Stations at Ebbsfleet, Stratford and St Pancras and link to the West Coast Main Line to the established timetable as the essential elements enabling future development.

  Since launch of the Alliance on the 20 February 1998, there has been growing support from many regional associations, local authorities, Chambers of Commerce, Trade Unions, businesses and public-private partnerships with interests in regeneration.

  The following list summarises our support from many regions for the campaign.

    —  Inside London support includes London First, London Chamber of Commerce, Thames Gateway London Partnership and London Lee Valley Partnership Ltd. The Association of London Government as given their support, representing all London Local Authorities.

    —  In Kent there is support from Kent CC, Thames Gateway North Kent Partnership, Dartford and Gravesham.

    —  In the Home counties support includes Milton Keynes, Watford and the Thameslink 2000 consortium.

    —  In the West Midlands support is from Birmingham and Wolverhampton chambers of commerce, Birmingham 2000, Rugby and the Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership.

    —  In the East Midlands support is lead by the East Midlands Regional Planning Forum and includes Nottingham and Leicester.

    —  In the North, support comes from the influential North West Partnership (following the recent merger of the NW Business Leadership Team and the NW Regional Association), Liverpool Chamber of Commerce and the Cockermouth Civic Trust, Local Authority supports includes Wakefield, York, Doncaster, Cheshire, Cumbria and Kirklees.

    —  To the east it includes the Standing Conference of East Anglian Authorities (SCEALA) and direct support from Suffolk, Norfolk, Essex and Ipswich Councils and Essex and Suffolk Water.

  National support comes from Trade Unions including the RMT and ASLEF as well as the Scottish TUC. Together with major national groupings such as The English Regions Association, Transport 2000, the National Planning Forum, West Coast 250 Group, The Channel Tunnel Initiative. The Civic Trust and the Railway Development Society. These groups collectively add large numbers (400+) of both individual and corporate members.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 26 January 1999