Select Committee on Northern Ireland Affairs Second Special Report

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed under Standing Order No 152 to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office; administration and expenditure of the Crown Solicitor's Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

The Committee consists of a maximum of thirteen Members, of whom the quorum is four. Unless the House otherwise orders, all Members nominated to the Committee continue to be members of it for the remainder of the Parliament.

The Committee has power:

 (a)  to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time;

(b)  to appoint persons with technical knowledge either to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the Committee's order of reference;

(c)  to communicate to any other committee appointed under the same Standing Order (or to the Committee of Public Accounts and to the Deregulation Committee) its evidence and any other documents relating to matters of common interest;

(d)  to meet concurrently with any other such Committee for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence, or considering draft reports; or with the European Scrutiny Committee or any Sub-Committee thereof, for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence.

The membership of the Committee since its nomination on 28 July 1997 has been as follows:

Mr Peter Brooke (Chairman)

Mr Harry BarnesMr Ken Livingstone
Mr Roy BeggsMr Stephen McCabe
Mr Desmond Browne (added 9.11.98)
(discharged 9.11.98)
Mr Eddie McGrady
Mr Jeffrey DonaldsonMr Tony McWalter
Mr John GroganMs Margaret Moran
Mr Stephen Hesford (discharged 19.2.98) (added 19.2.98)Mr Peter Robinson
Mr Andrew HunterMr Martin Salter

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 28 May 1999