Select Committee on Public Administration Third Report

The Select Committee on Public Administration is appointed under Standing Order No 146 to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration, of the Health Service Commissioners for England, Scotland and Wales and of the Parliamentary Ombudsman for Northern Ireland, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith; and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.

  The Committee consists of 11 Members. It has a quorum of three. Unless the House otherwise orders, each Member nominated to the Committee shall continue to be a member of it for the remainder of the Parliament.

  The Committee has power:

  (a)  to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time;

   (b)  to appoint specialist advisers to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the Committee's order of reference;

   (c)  to communicate to the European Scrutiny Committee its evidence and any other document relating to matters of common interest; and

   (d)  to meet concurrently with the European Scrutiny Committee, or any sub-committee thereof, for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence.

  The following were nominated members of the Committee on 16 July 1997.

Mr Peter BradleyFiona Mactaggart
Mr Ronnie CampbellMr Rhodri Morgan
Dr Lynda larkMr David Ruffley
Mr Mike HancockMr Richard Shepherd
Miss Melanie JohnsonMr Andrew Tyrie
Mr Fraser Kemp

  Mr Rhodri Morgan was elected Chairman on 22 July 1997.

Fiona Mactaggart was discharged and Ms Helen Jones added on 3 February 1998.

Miss Melanie Johnson was discharged and Ms Margaret Moran added on 13 January 1999.

Mr Mike Hancock was discharged and Mr Mark Oaten added on 5 May 1999.

Mr Rhodri Morgan, Dr Lynda Clark and Mr Fraser Kemp were discharged and Mr Desmond Browne, Mr Brian White and Dr Tony Wright added on 10 June 1999.

Dr Tony Wright was elected Chairman on 15 June 1999.

Mr David Ruffley was discharged and Mr Nicholas Soames added on 2 July 1999.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 29 July 1999