Select Committee on Social Security Second Report

  The Social Security Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department of Social Security and associated public bodies.

  The Committee consists of 11 Members. It has a quorum of three. Unless the House otherwise orders, all Members nominated to the Committee continue to be members of it for the remainder of the Parliament.

  The Committee has power:

  (a) to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time;

  (b) to appoint specialist advisers either to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the Committee's order of reference;

  (c) to communicate to any other committee appointed under the same Standing Order (or to the European Scrutiny Committee, the Committee of Public Accounts, the Deregulation Committee or the Environmental Audit Committee) its evidence and any other documents relating to matters of common interest;

  (d) to meet concurrently with any other committee appointed under Standing Order No. 152 for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence, or considering draft reports, or with the European Scrutiny Committee or any sub-committee thereof for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence.

  The membership of the Committee since its nomination on 14 July 1997 has been as follows:

    Ms Karen Buck
    Mr Vernon Coaker (added 9 November 1998; discharged 1 February 1999).
    Mr Andrew Dismore (added 9 November 1998).
    Mr Howard Flight (added 20 July 1998).
    Mr Michael Foster (Hastings and Rye) (added 9 November 1998; discharged 25 January 1999).
    Mr Nick Gibb (discharged 20 July 1998).
    Mr Paul Goggins (added 28 November 1997; discharged 9 November 1998).
    Mr Frank Roy (discharged 9 November 1998).
    Ms Patricia Hewitt (discharged 9 November 1998).
    Mrs Joan Humble (added 9 November 1998).
    Miss Julie Kirkbride
    Mr Archy Kirkwood (elected Chairman 16 July 1997).
    Mr Edward Leigh
    Siobhain McDonagh (discharged 28 November 1997).
    Kali Mountford (added 9 November 1998).
    Dr Doug Naysmith (added 25 January 1999).
    Ms Gisela Stuart (discharged 9 November 1998).
    Mr Chris Pond
    Ms Debra Shipley (added 1 February 1999).
    Mr Malcolm Wicks (discharged 9 November 1998).

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 4 February 1999