Select Committee on Broadcasting First Report

The Broadcasting Committee

The Broadcasting Committee is appointed to consider the broadcasting of proceedings of the House and matters ancillary thereto. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 139.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The Members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present

membership of the Committee is as follows.[1]

    Mr Norman Baker MP (Liberal Democrat, Lewes)[2]
    Mr Eric Clarke MP (Labour, Midlothian)[3]
    Mr Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP (Conservative, Cotswold)[4]
    Mr Roger Gale MP (Conservative, North Thanet)[3]
    Mr Barry Gardiner MP (Labour, Brent North)[5]
    Mrs Eileen Gordon MP (Labour, Romford)[3]
    Mr Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)[6]
    Mr David Lepper MP (Labour, Brighton Pavilion)[3]
    Mr Stephen Pound MP (Labour, Ealing North)[3]
    Mr Jonathan Sayeed MP (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)[3]
    Mr Shaun Woodward MP (Labour, Witney)[3]

On 10 December 1997, the Committee elected Mr Eric Clarke as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with domestic committees established under Standing Order No. 142 or with the Finance and Services Committee, or with any Committee of the Lords on broadcasting for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House of Commons Commission.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Broadcasting Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 5848.

1   Mr Ivor Caplin MP (Labour, Hove), was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 29 June 1999; Mr George Galloway MP (Labour, Glasgow Kelvin), was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 20 June 2000; Mr Andrew Stunell MP (Liberal Democrat, Hazel Grove), was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 9 February 2000; Mr Mike Wood MP (Labour, Batley and Spen), was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 26 February 1998. Back

2   Appointed on 9 February 2000 Back

3   Appointed on 28 July 1997 Back

4   Appointed on 20 June 2000 Back

5   Appointed on 26 February 1998 Back

6   Appointed on 29 June 1999 Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2000
Prepared 5 July 2000