Select Committee on Environmental Audit First Report

The Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the contribution of the policies and programmes of government to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit government's performance against targets set by Ministers; and to report thereon. The constitution and powers are set out in full in Standing Order No. 152(A).

The Committee has up to sixteen members of whom a quorum for any formal proceedings is four. Members are appointed by the House and, unless discharged, remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is:[1]
Mr Norman Baker[2] (Liberal Democrat, Lewes) Mr Tim Loughton (Conservative, Worthing E & Shoreham)
Mr Bob Blizzard (Labour, Waveney) Rt Hon Michael Meacher[2] (Labour, Oldham W & Royton)
Mrs Helen Brinton (Labour, Peterborough) Mr Laurence Robertson (Conservative, Tewkesbury)
Mr Cynog Dafis[2] (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion) Mr Malcolm Savidge (Labour, Aberdeen North)
Mr Neil Gerrard[2] (Labour, Walthamstow) Mr Jonathan R. Shaw (Labour, Chatham & Aylesford)
Mr Dominic Grieve (Conservative, Beaconsfield) Mr Gareth R. Thomas (Labour, Harrow West)
Mr John Horam (Conservative, Orpington) Mr Paul Truswell (Labour, Pudsey)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East) Joan Walley (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

The Committee elected Mr John Horam as its Chairman on 25 November 1997.

The Committee has power to invite written evidence, require the submission of documents, examine witnesses and publish reports to the House accompanied by the evidence it has gathered.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued between sessions or dissolved pending a general election) and may do so away from Westminster. It may inform itself by visits abroad and by the use of specialist advisers. The Committee may meet concurrently with the departmentally-related select committees, European Scrutiny Committee and any Lords committee; and may communicate its documents and evidence to any other committee appointed by either House.

Committee reports and evidence are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. Pages of a report are numbered in roman numerals; pages of evidence are numbered conventionally. In footnotes, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' and the question number and references to written evidence by 'Ev' and a page number. The formal proceedings of the Committee in agreeing this report are set out after the substantive text.

Committee publications (including press notices) are available at /commons/selcom/eacom.htm. Further details of the Committee's activities are given for each parliamentary session in the Sessional Returns series also published by The Stationery Office.

All correspondence should be addressed to: The Clerk, Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219-5776 (fax:-2731); the Committee's e-mail address is:

1  Members were appointed to the Committee on 12 November 1997 unless otherwise indicated. Mr Matthew Taylor (Liberal Democrat, Truro and St Austell) was appointed on 17 November 1997 and discharged on 2 December 1997. Back

2  Mr Baker was appointed on 2 December 1997; Mr Dafis on 17 November 1997; Mr Gerrard on 14 January 1999 and Rt Hon Michael Meacher on 19 December 1997. The Minister for the Environment has ex-officio membership of the Committee in like manner to the Financial Secretary's membership of the Committee of Public Accounts.  Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999
Prepared 25 November 1999