House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings The Administration Committee


The Administration Committee

The Administration Committee is appointed to consider the provision of general services for the House. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 142.

The Committee has a maximum of nine members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

    Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)[2]
    Mr Hilton Dawson MP (Labour, Lancaster and Wyre)[2]
    Mr Stephen Day MP (Conservative, Cheadle)[3]
    Caroline Flint MP (Labour, Don Valley)[4]
    Mr Mike Hall MP (Labour, Weaver Vale)[5]
    Mr Fabian Hamililton MP (Labour, Leeds North East)[2]
    Dr Nick Palmer MP (Labour, Broxtowe)[6]
    Mrs Marion Roe MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)[2]
    Mr William Ross MP (Ulster Unionist Party, Londonderry East)[2]

On 29 July 1997, the Committee elected Mrs Marion Roe as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees established under Standing Order No. 142 or with the Finance and Services Committee, or with the Broadcasting Committee, or with any committee of the Lords on House of Lords Offices (or any sub-committee of that committee) for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House of Commons Commission.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Administration Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2471.

1  Mr James Cran MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness), was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 22 June 1998; Mrs Jane Kennedy MP (Labour, Liverpool Wavertree), was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 19 January 2000; Mr Oliver Heald MP (Conservative, Hertfordshire North East) was appointed on 22 June 1998 and discharged on 21 February 2000; Mr Stephen Hepburn MP (Labour, Jarrow) was appointed on 28 July 1997 and discharged on 30 January 2001.Back
2  Appointed on 28 July 1997Back
3  Appointed on 21 February 2000Back
4  Appointed on 30 January 2001Back
5  Appointed on 19 January 2000Back
6  Appointed on 8 December 1997Back
Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared: 5 June 2001