House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings The Committee on the Adoption and Children Bill


The Select Committee on the Adoption and Children Bill

The House committed the Adoption and Children Bill to a Select Committee on 26 March 2001 and ordered the Committee to report to the House on or before Tuesday 12 June.

The following were appointed members of the Committee on 9 April 2001:

Mrs Liz Blackman (Lab. Erewash)
Mr Julian Brazier (Con. Canterbury)
Ann Coffey (Lab. Stockport)
Caroline Flint (Lab. Don Valley)
Sandra Gidley (LibDem. Romsey)
Mrs Llin Golding (Lab. Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Mr David Hinchliffe (Lab. Wakefield)
Mr John Hutton (Lab. Barrow and Furness)
Mr Jonathan R Shaw (Lab. Chatham and Aylesford)
Mrs Caroline Spelman (Con. Meriden)
Mr Desmond Swayne (Con. New Forest West)
Ms Dari Taylor (Lab. Stockton South)

On 10 April, the Committee elected David Hinchliffe as its Chairman.

The Motion appointing the Committee set the quorum as three and gave the Committee the power to meet away from Westminster, and to appoint specialist advisers.

The Committee was given the power to require the submission of written evidence and to examine witnesses.

All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Select Committee on the Adoption and Children Bill, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 1380/2145; the Committee's e-mail address is

Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared: 25 June 2001