Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport Fourth Report


Monday 30 April

Round table discussion at Speech House with:

  • South West Tourism, Mr Malcolm Bell, Chief Executive
  • Heart of England Tourist Board, Sir William Lawrence, Chairman and Ms Penny Hadland, Director, West Midlands
  • Gloucestershire County Council, Mr Rob Colley, Gloucestershire Tourism
  • Forest of Dean District Council, Ms Meg Holborrow, Managing Director, Ms Rachel Lewis, Tourism Officer, and Mr Owen James, Head of Regeneration Services
  • Countryside Agency, Dr Val Kirby, Forest of Dean Project Officer
  • Forest Enterprise, Mr Rob Guest, Deputy Surveyor, and Mr Rod Leslie, Environment Manager
  • Speech House Hotel, Mr Lewis Scott, General Manager

Tuesday 1 May

Tour of Dean Heritage Museum, Cinderford, followed by discussions with representatives of:

  • Dean Heritage Museum, Ms Kate Biggs, Director, and Mr Peter Moore, Administrator
  • Forest of Dean District Council, Ms Rachel Lewis, Tourism Officer.
  • Forest of Dean Accommodation Group, Mr Julian Berrisford, Chairman
  • South West Museums Council, Mr Sam Hunt, Chief Executive Forest Of Dean Attractions Group, Ms Sylvia Jones
  • Forest of Dean Caravan and Camping Sites, Mr Graham Rhode
  • Fountain Inn, Mr Alan Powell
  • St Briavels Castle Youth Hostel, Mr John Cotterill and Mrs Eileen Cotterill
  • Little Dean Hotel, Mrs Josephine Feltham
  • Clearwell Caves, Mr Ray Wright
  • Dean Forest Railway, Mr John Wright, Director
  • Countryside Agency, Dr Val Kirby, Forest of Dean Project Officer

Discussions with representatives of local outdoor pursuits industry at Wye Dean Canoe Centre:

  • Wye Dean Canoe Centre, Mr Paul Howells and Mrs Jane Howells
  • Dean Field Studies Centre, Mr Malcolm Arnold
  • Monmouth Canoe and Activity Centre, Mr Graham Symonds and Mrs Sue Symonds
  • Wilderness Centre, Mr Roger Chandler
  • Pedal-a-bike-away, Mr Fred Carpenter
  • Forest Adventure Activity Centre, Mrs Cheryl Sproul
  • Motiva, Mr Matthew Ralphs

Tour of National Bird of Prey Centre, Newent, followed by discussions with:

  • Ms Jemima Parry-Jones MBE, Director, National Bird of Prey Centre and Chair of the Zoo Forum, and Ms Sarah-Jane Rumble, Business Manager, National Bird of Prey Centre

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 8 May 2001