Select Committee on Education and Employment First Special Report

The Education and Employment Committee

The Education and Employment Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Employment and its associated public bodies. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of 17 members, of whom the quorum is five. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The membership of the Committee since its nomination on 14 July 1997 has been as follows:

Mr Richard AllanHelen Jones
     (added 13.11.00)      (added 13.12.99)
Ms Candy AthertonMrs Eleanor Laing
Charlotte Atkins     (discharged 29.11.99)
Mr Joe BentonJudy Mallaber
     (discharged 14.6.99) Mr Gordon Marsden
Mr Graham Brady     (added 9.11.98)
Yvette CooperMrs Theresa May
     (discharged 29.11.99)      (discharged 7.12.98)
Mr Cynog DafisMr Patrick Nicholls
     (discharged 8.12.97)      (added 8.5.00)
Valerie DaveyMr Stephen O'Brien
Caroline Flint     (added 29.11.99)
     (discharged 13.12.99) Mr Ian Pearson
Mr Derek Foster     (added 29.11.99)
Mr Don FosterMr Bill Rammell
     (discharged 29.3.99)      (added 14.6.99)
Mr Michael Foster     (discharged 13.12.99)
     (Worcester) Mr Barry Sheerman
     (added 29.11.99)      (added 29.11.99)
Dr Evan HarrisMr Nick St Aubyn
     (added 1.11.99) Mr Gerry Steinberg
Mr John Hayes     (discharged 9.11.98)
     (added 7.12.98) Mr Stephen Twigg
     (discharged 8.5.00)      (added 13.12.99)
Mr John HealeyMr Malcolm Wicks
     (discharged 29.11.99)      (added 9.11.98)
Ms Margaret Hodge     (discharged 29.11.99)
     (discharged 9.11.98) Mr Phil Willis
Mr Paul Keetch     (added 29.3.99)
     (added 8.12.97)      (discharged 13.11.00)
     (discharged 1.11.99)

The membership of the Education Sub-committee since its nomination on 23 July 1997 has been as follows:

Charlotte AtkinsHelen Jones
Mr Joe Benton     (added 14.12.99)
     (discharged 14.6.99) Mr Gordon Marsden
Mr Cynog Dafis     (added 10.11.98)
     (discharged 8.12.97) Mrs Theresa May
Valerie Davey     (discharged 7.12.98)
Caroline FlintMr Stephen O'Brien
     (discharged 13.12.99)      (added 30.11.99)
Mr Don FosterMr Bill Rammell
     (discharged 29.3.99)      (added 15.6.99)
Mr Derek Foster     (discharged 13.12.99)
     (ex officio) Mr Barry Sheerman
Mr Michael Foster     (added 30.11.99)
     (Worcester)      (elected Chairman, 1.12.99)
     (added 30.11.99) Mr Nick St Aubyn
Dr Evan HarrisMr Gerry Steinberg
     (added 2.11.99)      (discharged 9.11.98)
Mr John HayesMr Malcolm Wicks
     (added 8.12.98)      (added 10.11.98)
     (discharged 1.2.00)      (elected Chairman 11.11.98)
Mr John Healey     (discharged 29.11.99)
     (added 13.7.99) Mr Phil Willis
     (discharged 29.11.99)      (added 30.3.99)
Ms Margaret Hodge     (discharged 1.2.00)
     (elected Chairman 23.7.97)
     (discharged 9.11.98)

The membership of the Employment Sub-committee since its nomination on 23 July 1997 has been as follows:

Mr Richard AllanJudy Mallaber
     (added 14.11.00) Mrs Theresa May
Ms Candy Atherton     (discharged 7.12.98)
Mr Graham BradyMr Nick St Aubyn
     (added 31.7.97)      (added 26.3.98)
Yvette Cooper     (discharged 12.5.98)
     (discharged 29.11.99)      (added 4.5.99)
Mr Derek Foster     (discharged 9.5.00)
     (elected Chairman Mr Patrick Nicholls
23.7.97)     (added 9.5.00)
Mr John HealeyMr Ian Pearson
     (discharged 29.11.99)      (added 30.11.99)
Ms Margaret HodgeMr Barry Sheerman
     (ex officio)      (ex officio)
     (discharged 9.11.98)      (added 14.12.99)
Mr Paul KeetchMr Stephen Twigg
     (added 9.12.97)      (added 14.12.99)
     (discharged 1.11.99)
Mrs Eleanor Laing
     (added 31.7.97)
     (discharged 29.11.99)

The Committee has the power to send for persons, papers and records, to make Reports to the House and to appoint two sub-committees. The Committee has appointed an Education Sub-committee and an Employment Sub-committee. The quorum of each sub-committee is three.

The Committee and its sub-committees may meet notwithstanding any adjournment of the House and may travel within the United Kingdom and abroad. The Committee or its sub-committees may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 and with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) for the purpose of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation Committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the end of this publication.

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education and Employment Committee,7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6181/1352; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 27 February 2001