Select Committee on Foreign Affairs Sixth Report

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (and any associated public bodies). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of twelve members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

      Diane Abbott MP (Labour, Hackney North and Stoke Newington)[2]
      Donald Anderson MP (Labour, Swansea East)2
      David Chidgey MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)[3]
      Rt Hon Sir Peter Emery MP (Conservative, East Devon)2
      Norman A Godman MP (Labour, Greenock and Inverclyde)2
      Eric Illsley MP (Labour, Barnsley Central)2
      Andrew Mackinlay MP (Labour, Thurrock)2
      Sir David Madel MP (Conservative, Bedfordshire South West)[4]
      John Maples MP (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)[5]
      Ted Rowlands MP (Labour,Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)2
      Rt Hon Sir John Stanley MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)2
      Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Labour, Milton Keynes South West)[6]

On 23 July 1997, the Committee elected Mr Donald Anderson as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, references to the written evidence are indicated by 'Ev.' followed by a page number, or where written evidence is contained in an Appendix, 'Ev.' followed by a page number followed by 'Appendix...'.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 and with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts, Deregulation and Environmental Audit committees. The Committee may appoint one sub-committee.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is published inside the front cover of this Volume.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone numbers for general inquiries are: 020 7219 6106/6105/6394; the Committee's e-mail address is:

1   Rt Hon Virginia Bottomley MP (Conservative, South West Surrey), was appointed on 17 July 1997 and discharged on 25 January 1999; Ernie Ross MP (Labour, Dundee West), was appointed on 17 July 1997 and discharged on 22 March 1999; Shaun Woodward (Conservative, Witney), was appointed on 25 January 1999 and discharged on 5 July 1999; David Heath (Liberal Democrat, Somerton and Frome), was appointed on 17 July 1997 and discharged on 1 November 1999; David Wilshire (Conservative, Spelthorne), was appointed on 17 July 1997 and discharged on 13 November 2000. Back

2   Appointed on 17 July 1997. Back

3   Appointed on 1 November 1999. Back

4   Appointed on 5 July 1999. Back

5   Appointed on 13 November 2000 Back

6   Appointed on 22 March 1999. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 11 April 2001