House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings The Health Committee


Minutes of Proceedings from The Health Committee

The Health Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department of Health (and any associated public bodies). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:1

    Mr David Amess MP (Conservative, Southend West)2

    John Austin MP (Labour, Erith and Thamesmead)

    Dr Peter Brand MP (Liberal Democrat, Isle of Wight)

    Mr Simon Burns MP (Conservative, Chelmsford West)3

    Mrs Eileen Gordon MP (Labour, Romford)4

    Mr John Gunnell MP (Labour, Morley and Rothwell)

    Mr Stephen Hesford MP (Labour, Wirral West)5

    Mr David Hinchliffe MP (Labour, Wakefield)

    Siobhain McDonagh MP (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)6

    Mrs Marion Roe MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)7

    Dr Howard Stoate MP (Labour, Dartford)

On 17 July 1997, the Committee elected Mr David Hinchliffe as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to send for and examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft Reports and with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) or the Environmental Audit Committee for the purpose of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts, and Deregulation Committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Health Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is 020 7219 5466; the Committee's e-mail address is

1   Rt Hon Peter Brooke MP (Conservative, Cities of London and Westminster), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 21 July 1997; Mr Andrew Lansley MP (Conservative, Cambridge South), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 20 July 1998; Ann Keen MP (Labour, Brentford and Isleworth), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 1 February 1999; Mr Robert Walter MP (Conservative, Dorset North), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 5 July 1999; Julia Drown MP (Labour, Swindon South), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 30 November 1999; Mr Ivan Lewis MP (Labour, Bury South), was appointed on 1 February 1999 and discharged on 13 December 1999; Mr Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 13 November 2000; Mrs Audrey Wise MP (Labour, Preston), was appointed on 14 July 1997 and died on 2 September 2000.    [back]

2   Appointed 20 July 1998.    [back]

3   Appointed 5 July 1999.    [back]

4   Appointed 30 November 1999.    [back]

5   Appointed 13 December 1999.    [back]

6   Appointed 27 November 2000.    [back]

7   Appointed 13 November 2000.    [back]

Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared: 15 June 2001