Select Committee on International Development Fourth Special Report

The International Development Committee

The International Development Committee is appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven Members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee since its nomination on 14 July 1997 is as follows:

    Mr Dennis Canavan MP (Falkirk West, Labour) (discharged 01.02.1999)
    Ann Clwyd MP (Cynon Valley, Labour)
    Mr Tony Colman MP (Putney, Labour) (added 06.06.2000)
    Barbara Follett MP (Stevenage, Labour)
    Mr Bernie Grant MP (Tottenham, Labour) (deceased, 08.04.2000)
    Mr Nigel Jones MP (Cheltenham, Liberal Democrat) (added 01.11.1999)
    Mr Piara S Khabra MP (Ealing, Southall, Labour)
    Ms Oona King MP (Bethnal Green, Labour)
    Tess Kingham MP (Gloucester, Labour)
    Mr Andrew Robathan MP (Blaby, Conservative)
    Mr Andrew Roe MP (Faversham and Kent Mid, Conservative)
    Dr Jenny Tonge MP (Richmond Park, Liberal Democrat) (discharged 01.11.1999)
    Mr Bowen Wells MP (Hertford and Stortford, Conservative)
    Mr Tony Worthington MP (Clydebank and Milngavie, Labour) (added 01.02.1999)

Mr Bowen Wells was elected Chairman 16 July 1997.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 for the purposed of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may meet concurrently with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) or the Environmental Audit Committee for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation Committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including Press Notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Development Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank House of Commons, London, SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 1221; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 11 May 2001