House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings The Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee: Membership and Powers

    The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on the work of select committees; and to choose select committee reports for debate in the House. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 145.

    The Committee has at present 33 members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is six. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee, and the Committees which each member chairs, are:1

     Richard Allan MP (Liberal Democrat, Sheffield Hallam) (Information) Rt Hon Donald Anderson MP (Labour, Swansea East) (Foreign Affairs)Stuart Bell MP (Labour, Middlesborough) (Finance and Services)2 Andrew F Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish) (Environment, Transport and Regional Affairs, Environment Sub-committee) Rt Hon Peter Brooke CH MP (Conservative, Cities of London and Westminster) (Northern Ireland Affairs) Sir Sydney Chapman MP (Conservative, Chipping Barnet) (Accommodation and Works) Eric Clarke MP (Labour, Midlothian) (Broadcasting) Dr Michael Clark MP (Conservative, Rayleigh) (Science and Technology) Robin Corbett MP (Labour, Birmingham Erdington) (Home Affairs)3 David Curry MP (Conservative, Skipton and Ripon) (Agriculture)4 Rt Hon David Davis MP (Conservative, Haltemprice and Howden) (Public Accounts) Gwyneth Dunwoody MP (Labour, Crewe and Nantwich) (Environment, Transport and Regional Affairs, Transport Sub-committee) Rt Hon Derek Foster MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland) (Education and Employment, Employment Sub-committee) Rt Hon Bruce George MP (Labour, Walsall South) (Defence) David Hinchliffe MP (Labour, Wakefield) (Health) Jimmy Hood MP (Labour, Clydesdale) (European Scrutiny) John Horam MP (Conservative, Orpington) (Environmental Audit) Martyn Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South) (Welsh Affairs) Rt Hon Gerald Kaufman MP (Labour, Manchester Gorton) (Culture, Media and Sport) Archy Kirkwood MP (Liberal Democrat, Roxburgh and Berwickshire) (Social Security) John McWilliam MP (Labour, Blaydon) (Selection) David Marshall MP (Labour, Glasgow Shettleston) (Scottish Affairs) Martin O'Neill MP (Labour, Ochil) (Trade and Industry) Peter Pike MP (Labour, Burnley) (Deregulation)Rt Hon Giles Radice MP (Labour, Durham North) (Treasury) Marion Roe MP (Conservative, Broxbourne) (Administration) Barry Sheerman MP (Labour/Co-op, Huddersfield) (Education and Employment, Education Sub-committee)5Rt Hon Robert Sheldon MP (Labour, Ashton under Lyne) (Standards and Privileges) David Tredinnick MP (Conservative, Bosworth) (Statutory Instruments) Dennis Turner MP (Labour/Co-op, Wolverhampton South East) (Catering) Bowen Wells MP (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford) (International Development) Nicholas Winterton MP (Conservative, Macclesfield) (Procedure) Dr Tony Wright MP (Labour, Cannock Chase) (Public Administration)6

     On 29 July 1997, the Committee elected Mr Robert Sheldon as its Chairman.

    The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

    The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved).

    The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

    All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Liaison Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 3313; the Committee's e-mail address is:


     1  Mr Rhodri Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff West) was appointed on 25 July 1997 and discharged on 17 June 1999; Mr Chris Mullin MP (Labour, Sunderland South) was appointed on 25 July 1997 and discharged on 2 December 1999; Mr Malcolm Wicks MP (Labour, Croydon North) was appointed on 16 November 1998 and discharged on 2 December 1999); Mr Peter Luff MP (Conservative, Mid Worcestershire) (Agriculture) was appointed on 25 July 1997 and discharged on 30 March 2000; Dr Lewis Moonie MP (Labour/Co-op, Kirkcaldy) was appointed on 2 December 1997 and discharged on 6 April 2000.      [back]

     2  Appointed on 6 April 2000.      [back]

     3  Appointed on 2 December 1999.      [back]

     4  Appointed on 30 March 2000.      [back]

     5  Appointed on 2 December 1999.      [back]

     6  Appointed on 17 June 1999.      [back]


Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared: 6 August 2001