Select Committee on Procedure First Report

The Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed to consider the practice and procedure of the House of Commons in the conduct of public business and to make recommendations. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No 147.

The Committee has a maximum of seventeen members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is five. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

      Mr Nicholas Winterton MP (Conservative, Macclesfield)[2]
      Mr Tony Banks MP (Labour, West Ham)[3]
      Rt Hon A J Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed)[4]
      Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)2
      Mr Colin Burgon MP (Labour, Elmet)[5]
      Mr Keith Darvill MP (Labour, Upminster)2
      Mr David Drew MP (Labour/Co-operative, Stroud)2
      Mr Clive Efford MP (Labour, Eltham)2
      Mrs Lorna Fitzsimons MP (Labour, Rochdale)2
      Rt Hon Eric Forth MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst)[6]
      Mr Barry Gardiner MP (Labour, Brent North)2
      Mr Nigel Griffiths JP MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)[7]
      Mr Eric Illsley MP (Labour, Barnsley Central)2
      Mr Andrew Stunell OBE MP (Liberal Democrat, Hazel Grove)2

On 28 October 1997, the Committee elected Mr Nicholas Winterton as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, references to the written evidence are indicated by 'Ev' followed by a page number.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the end of this volume.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Procedure Committee, Journal Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: (020) 7219 3318; the Committee's e-mail address is:

1  Mr Damian Green MP (Conservative, Ashford) was appointed on 31 July 1997 and discharged on 5 November 1998.

Chris McCafferty MP (Labour, Calder Valley) was appointed on 31 July 1997 and discharged on 25 November 1999.

Helen Southworth MP (Labour, Warrington South) was appointed on 31 July 1997 and discharged on 9 February 1999.

Mr Paul Stinchcombe MP (Labour, Wellingborough) was appointed on 31 July 1997 and discharged on 16 April 1999.

Mr Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole) was appointed on 5 November 1998 and discharged on 26 November 1999.

Mr Paul Tyler MP (Liberal Democrat, Cornwall North) was appointed on 31 July 1997 and discharged on 7 November 1997.

Mr Edward Davey MP (Liberal Democrat, Kingston and Surbiton) was appointed on 7 November 1999 and discharged on 14 February 2000. Back

2  Appointed 31 July 1997. Back

3  Appointed 25 November 1999. Back

4  Appointed 14 February 2000. Back

5  Appointed 9 February 1999. Back

6  Appointed 26 November 1999. Back

7  Appointed 16 April 1999. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2000
Prepared 18 December 2000