Select Committee on Standards and Privileges Third Report

Attachment 2

Dramatis Personae

Mr Andrew Milne:Solicitor, Andrew Milne & Co, previously a partner at Zaiwalla & Co.
Mr Paul Gosling:Financial journalist and researcher, previously a member of, and one-time auditor for, Leicester East Constituency Labour Party
Member complained against
Mr Keith Vaz MP: Member of Parliament for Leicester East
Mr Chris Hastings:Journalist working on The Sunday Telegraph
Mr Rajeev Syal:Journalist working on The Sunday Telegraph
Mr David Leppard:Journalist working on The Sunday Times
Mr Gareth WalshJournalist working on The Sunday Times
Zaiwalla & Co
Mr Sarosh Zaiwalla:Solicitor, Zaiwalla & Co
Mr Brian Brown:Previously an accounts clerk at Zaiwalla & Co
Leicester East Constituency Labour Party
Mr Colin Hall:Chairman, Leicester East CLP
Councillor John Thomas: Secretary Leicester East CLP
Mr Roy Stuttard:Member of Executive Committee of Leicester East CLP
Mrs Patricia Stuttard: Member of Executive Committee of Leicester East CLP
Mrs M A Hall:Previously Treasurer, Leicester East CLP
Mr Allan Gratrix JP: Former Chairman, Leicester East CLP
Leicester City Council
Councillor Sir Peter Soulsby: Previously Leader of Council
Councillor Piara Singh Clair
Councillor Mary Draycott
Councillor Ramnik Kavia
Councillor Mustapha Kamal
Mr R Green:Chief Executive, Leicester City Council
Mr A Price-Jones:Previously Town Clerk, Leicester City Council
Mr J Dhesi:Planning Officer, Leicester City Council
Mr M J Ladha:Head of Corporate Equality Office, Leicester City Council
Religious organisations in Leicester
Shk M Jafferji } Dawoodi Bohra Jamaat of Leicester
Shk M Abdulali}
Mr Norunda Waghela}Swaminarayan Hindu Mission, London and Leicester
Mr Vinod Patel }
Other witnesses
Mr N Virani:Cygnet Property and Leisure plc
Mr Jaffer Kapasi OBE DL: Deputy Lord Lieutenant of Leicestershire
Mr B S Attwal MBE: B S Attwall and Co Ltd
Mr Ramesh Nanda:Chairman of Asian Business World
Mr Z Pala:Bipin Jewellers, Leicester
Mr M H Asmal:Leicester resident
Mr Jeff Carnall:Manager, Lloyds TSB, Leicester
Ms Rose Turner:Lloyds TSB, Leicester
Government Departments and public offices
Sir Hayden Phillips KCB Permanent Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department
Mr Nick Montagu:Chairman, Board of the Inland Revenue
Mr Ian Stevens:Chief Adviser, the Office for the Supervision for Solicitors
Other Members of Parliament
Ms Claire Ward MP: Member of Parliament for Watford; a member of a 1994 Labour Party enquiry into matters concerning the running of the Labour Party in Leicester East
Rt Hon John Major
Member of Parliament for Huntingdon
Members of Mr Vaz's family
Ms Maria Fernandes:Wife of Mr Keith Vaz
Mrs Merlyn Vaz:Mother of Mr Keith Vaz
Mrs Olga Fernandes
Mother-in-law of Mr Keith Vaz
Legal Advisers
Mr Geoffrey
Bindman, of
Representing Mr Keith Vaz
Mr Mark Stephens,
of Finers Stephens
Representing Mr Jaffer Kapasi
Mr Gerald
Shamash, of Steel
& Shamash
Representing Councillor John Thomas and Mr Colin Hall

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 9 March 2001