Select Committee on Treasury Fifth Report

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Treasury, the Board of Inland Revenue and the Board of Customs and Excise (and any associated public bodies). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of twelve members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee, and the date of appointment of each member, are as follows:[1]

Mr Nigel Beard MP (Labour, Bexleyheath and Crayford) 21 February 2000
Mr Jim Cousins MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne Central) 16 July 1997
Mr Edward Davey MP (Liberal Democrat, Kingston and Surbiton) 22 November 1999
Mr Michael Fallon MP (Conservative, Sevenoaks) 5 July 1999
Mr David Kidney MP (Labour, Stafford) 2 March 1998
Judy Mallaber MP (Labour, Amber Valley) 29 January 2001
Mr James Plaskitt MP (Labour, Warwick and Leamington) 29 November 1999
Mr Giles Radice MP (Labour, Durham North) 16 July 1997
Mr David Ruffley MP (Conservative, Bury St Edmunds) 30 November 1998
Mr Brian Sedgemore MP (Labour, Hackney South and Shoreditch) 16 July 1997
Sir Michael Spicer MP (Conservative, Worcestershire West) 16 July 1997
Sir Teddy Taylor MP (Conservative, Rochford and Southend East) 16 July 1997

On 17 July 1997, the Committee elected Mr Giles Radice as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by "Q" followed by the question number; references to the written evidence are indicated by "Ev" followed by a page number.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may meet concurrently with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) or the Environmental Audit Committee for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation Committees.

The Committee has power to appoint one Sub-committee, which has similar powers to the main Committee, except that it reports to the main Committee, which then reports to the House. All members of the Committee are members of the Sub-committee, and the Chairman is Sir Michael Spicer.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the end of this volume.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Treasury Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is (020) 7219 5769; the Committee's e-mail address is:

1  Previous members of the Committee: Mrs Liz Blackman (Labour, Erewash) (discharged on 29 January 2001); Mr Malcolm Bruce (Liberal Democrat, Gordon) (discharged on 31 July 1998); Dr Vincent Cable (Liberal Democrat, Twickenham) (appointed on 31 July 1998 and discharged on 22 November 1999); Mr Charles Clarke (Labour, Norwich South) (discharged on 9 November 1998); Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney) (discharged on 2 March 1998); Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative, Grantham and Stamford) (discharged on 15 June 1998); Mr Nick Gibb (Conservative, Bognor Regis and Littlehampton) (appointed on 15 June 1998 and discharged on 30 November 1998); Ruth Kelly (Labour, Bolton West) (discharged on 9 November 1998); Sir Peter Lloyd (Conservative, Fareham) (discharged on 5 July 1999); Dr Lewis Moonie (Labour, Kirkcaldy) (appointed on 9 November 1998 and discharged on 21 February 2000); Jacqui Smith (Labour, Redditch) (appointed on 9 November 1998 and discharged on 29 November 1999). Except where otherwise stated, these members were appointed on 16 July 1997. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 13 March 2001