House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings TheWelsh Affairs Committee


The Welsh Affairs Committee

The Welsh Affairs Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Secretary of State for Wales (including relations with the National Assembly for Wales). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven Members of Parliament, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

Mr Martin Caton MP (Labour, Gower)[2]
Mr Huw Edwards MP (Labour, Monmouth)[3]
Mr Martyn Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South)[2]
Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East)[4]
Mr Richard Livsey MP (Liberal Democrat, Brecon and Radnorshire)[2]
Mr Elfyn Llwyd MP (Plaid Cymru, Meirionnydd Nant Conwy)[5]
Ms Julie Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff North)[2]
Mr Owen Paterson MP (Conservative, Shropshire North)[2]
Mr Chris Ruane MP (Labour, Vale of Clwyd)[6]
Mr John Smith (Labour, Vale of Glamorgan)[7]
Mrs Betty Williams MP (Labour, Conwy)[2]

On 22 July 1997, the Committee elected Mr Martyn Jones as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may meet concurrently with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) or the Environmental Audit Committee for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Welsh Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6189; the Committee's e-mail address is

1  Mr John Bercow MP (Conservative, Buckingham) was appointed on 14 July 1997 and discharged on 22 June 1998.Back
2  Appointed on 14 July 1997.Back
3  Appointed on 8 December 1997.Back
4  Appointed on 22 June 1998.Back
5  Appointed on 20 April 1998.Back
6  Appointed on 18 January 1999.Back
7  Appointed on 10 April 2000.Back
Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared: 21 May 2001