Previous SectionIndexHome Page

Mr. Etherington: Will my right hon. Friend give way?

Mr. Raynsford: No, I have taken several interventions, and I intend to make progress.

The recent statement by the promoters of the Bill indicates their intention to break the link between property and voting rights by replacing the rateable value as the basis for calculating entitlement to vote with a formula based on the number of employees. It is important that Members are aware of the wider reforms, to which the Bill is integral, that the City of London corporation is progressing. The special report of the Committee that considered the Bill welcomed the boundary review volunteered by the promoters and the need to reduce the overall number of elected members in the common council. Both the boundary review and the reduction in elected members are proceeding in line with undertakings from the corporation to ensure that the position of residential voters would not suffer as the result of the introduction of the corporate franchise envisaged in the Bill.

However, I fear for the completion of those processes should the Bill fail to be revived today. Those members of the corporation who are opposed to modernisation are more likely to gain ground if there is disillusionment at the House's rejection of the reform of the business vote set out in the Bill. I think they would be asking, "Why should we continue to propose reforms if Parliament has rejected the legislation that the measures anticipate?"

In summary, the Government believe that the revival of the Bill is the right way forward because the measures in the Bill seem reasonable and, in parts, long overdue. Secondly, to kill off the Bill would be a real setback for the process of modernisation of the corporation, and would allow the continuation of entirely unacceptable practices that no hon. Member could possibly wish to see perpetuated. I therefore urge all Members to vote in favour of the Bill's revival.

15 Nov 2001 : Column 1065

Question put:—

The House divided:- Ayes 156, Noes 33.

Division No. 64
[6.5 pm


Ainger, Nick
Ainsworth, Peter (E Surrey)
Ainsworth, Bob (Cov'try NE)
Alexander, Douglas
Arbuthnot, Rt Hon James
Armstrong, Rt Hon Ms Hilary
Atherton, Ms Candy
Atkinson, David (Bour'mth E)
Bacon, Richard
Baird, Vera
Baldry, Tony
Barker, Gregory
Baron, John
Barrett, John
Blackman, Liz
Boswell, Tim
Bottomley, Peter (Worthing W)
Bradshaw, Ben
Brown, Rt Hon Nicholas
(Newcastle E & Wallsend)
Bryant, Chris
Buck, Ms Karen
Burt, Alistair
Byers, Rt Hon Stephen
Cameron, David
Campbell, Mrs Anne (C'bridge)
Caplin, Ivor
Carmichael, Alistair
Chapman, Sir Sydney
(Chipping Barnet)
Chidgey, David
Chope, Christopher
Clarke, Rt Hon Kenneth
Clifton–Brown, Geoffrey
Coffey, Ms Ann
Colman, Tony
Cotter, Brian
Cruddas, Jon
Darling, Rt Hon Alistair
Davey, Edward (Kingston)
Djanogly, Jonathan
Doughty, Sue
Dowd, Jim
Duncan, Alan (Rutland & Melton)
Field, Mark (Cities of London)
Fitzpatrick, Jim
Flook, Adrian
Forth, Rt Hon Eric
Foster, Michael Jabez (Hastings)
Francois, Mark
Gale, Roger
Gilroy, Linda
Goggins, Paul
Gray, James
Grayling, Chris
Greenway, John
Grieve, Dominic
Hain, Rt Hon Peter
Hall, Mike (Weaver Vale)
Hamilton, David (Midlothian)
Harvey, Nick
Hawkins, Nick
Hayes, John
Heald, Oliver
Healey, John
Hendry, Charles
Heppell, John
Hill, Keith
Hogg, Rt Hon Douglas
Hoon, Rt Hon Geoffrey
Howells, Dr Kim
Hughes, Beverley (Stretford)
Hughes, Simon (Southwark N)
Ingram, Rt Hon Adam
Jackson, Glenda (Hampstead)
Jenkin, Bernard
Johnson, Alan (Hull W & Hessle)
Jones, Kevan (N Durham)
Jones, Martyn (Clwyd S)
Keen, Ann (Brentford & Isleworth)
Kelly, Ruth
King, Ms Oona (Bethnal Green)
Ladyman, Dr Stephen
Laing, Mrs Eleanor
Lait, Mrs Jacqui
Lammy, David
Laxton, Bob
Leslie, Christopher
Lewis, Ivan (Bury S)
Lewis, Dr Julian (New Forest E)
Liddell–Grainger, Ian
Lilley, Rt Hon Peter
Loughton, Tim
Love, Andrew
Luff, Peter
McAvoy, Thomas
McCartney, Rt Hon Ian
McFall, John
McIntosh, Miss Anne
Maclean, Rt Hon David
McNulty, Tony
Maples, John
Mates, Michael
Maude, Rt Hon Francis
Milburn, Rt Hon Alan
Miller, Andrew
Moran, Margaret
Murrison, Dr Andrew
O'Brien, Stephen (Eddisbury)
O'Hara, Edward
Olner, Bill
Page, Richard
Paterson, Owen
Pearson, Ian
Pike, Peter
Prentice, Ms Bridget (Lewisham E)
Primarolo, Dawn
Randall, John
Raynsford, Rt Hon Nick
Robathan, Andrew
Robertson, Hugh (Faversham)
Robertson, Laurence (Tewk'b'ry)
Russell, Bob (Colchester)
Ryan, Joan
Sarwar, Mohammad
Sayeed, Jonathan
Sheerman, Barry
Smith, Rt Hon Andrew (Oxford E)
Smith, John (Glamorgan)
Soley, Clive
Spink, Bob
Stanley, Rt Hon Sir John
Steen, Anthony
Stringer, Graham
Stuart, Ms Gisela
Sutcliffe, Gerry
Swayne, Desmond
Syms, Robert
Taylor, Ms Dari (Stockton S)
Taylor, Sir Teddy
Thomas, Gareth (Clwyd W)
Turner, Andrew (Isle of Wight)
Turner, Neil (Wigan)
Twigg, Stephen (Enfield)
Tyrie, Andrew
Ward, Ms Claire
Watson, Tom
Whittingdale, John
Wicks, Malcolm
Wills, Michael
Wilshire, David
Winterton, Mrs Ann (Congleton)
Winterton, Nicholas (Macclesfield)
Winterton, Ms Rosie (Doncaster C)
Woodward, Shaun
Woolas, Phil
Yeo, Tim
Young, Rt Hon Sir George

Tellers for the Ayes:

Mr. Paul Goodman and
Mr. George Osborne.


Abbott, Ms Diane
Austin, John
Barnes, Harry
Cable, Dr Vincent
Clwyd, Ann
Coleman, Iain
Corbyn, Jeremy
Davey, Valerie (Bristol W)
Davidson, Ian
Davies, Rt Hon Denzil (Llanelli)
Davis, Rt Hon Terry
(B'ham Hodge H)
Dawson, Hilton
Dismore, Andrew
Efford, Clive
Etherington, Bill
Gerrard, Neil
Harris, Tom (Glasgow Cathcart)
Iddon, Dr Brian
Jones, Lynne (Selly Oak)
Keen, Alan (Feltham & Heston)
Khabra, Piara S
Linton, Martin
McDonnell, John
McWalter, Tony
Mullin, Chris
Pound, Stephen
Price, Adam
Prosser, Gwyn
Skinner, Dennis
Smith, Geraldine (Morecambe)
Vis, Dr Rudi
Wareing, Robert N
Williams, Hywel (Caernarfon)

Tellers for the Noes:

Mr. John Cryer and
Mr. Kelvin Hopkins.

Question accordingly agreed to.

15 Nov 2001 : Column 1066


Message to the Lords to acquaint them therewith.




15 Nov 2001 : Column 1067


Next Section

IndexHome Page