Select Committee on Public Accounts Eleventh Report



  1.  This is the Eleventh Report made to the House of Commons since the establishment of the Public Accounts Commission under the National Audit Act 1983. The Report describes the work of the Commission in the exercise of its functions since its last Report in July 2000[1].

  2.  The Commission has a membership of nine. Two of the members—the Leader of the House of Commons and the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC)—are ex officio members. The remainder are appointed by the House of Commons.

  3.  The current membership of the Commission is as follows:

    Mr Roy Beggs

    Mr John McFall

    Mr Austin Mitchell

    Mr William O'Brien

    Mr George Osborne

    Mr Andrew Tyrie

    Rt Hon Alan Williams

    Rt Hon Robin Cook (ex officio as Leader of the House of Commons)

    Mr Edward Leigh (ex officio as Chairman of the PAC)

  4.  The Secretary of the Commission is Mr David Doig, one of the Principal Clerks of Select Committees, to whom all official correspondence should be addressed[2].


  5.  The Commission held four meetings during the period covered by this Report on 8 February and 12 July 2001; and 12 March and 9 July 2002.

  6.  Some 16 Parliamentary Questions were tabled to the Chairman of the Public Accounts Commission between 1 July 2000 and 24 July 2002, 6 of which were answered orally.

1   The Public Accounts Commission: Tenth Report, HC 754 (Session 1999-2000) Back

2   Secretary of the Public Accounts Commission, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. Back

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 7 November 2002