House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings Accommodation and Works

The Accommodation and Works Committee

The Accommodation and Works Committee is appointed to consider the provision of such services for the House. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 142.

The Committee has a maximum of nine members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:1

Mr Tony Banks MP (Labour, West Ham)
Mr Harold Best MP (Labour, Leeds North West)
Tom Brake MP (Liberal Democrat, Carshalton and Wallington)
Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley and Sidcup)
Keith Hill MP (Labour, Streatham)
Mr Patrick McLoughlin MP (Conservative, West Derbyshire)
Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)
Anne Picking MP (Labour, East Lothian)
Mr Syd Rapson MP (Labour, Portsmouth North)

On 17 July 2001, the Committee elected Derek Conway as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other select committees or sub-committees of either House of Parliament for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House of Commons Commission.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Accommodation and Works Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2471.


1  Appointed on 16 July 2001

Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared: 23 April 2003