House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings Administration

The Administration Committee

The Administration Committee is appointed to consider the provision of general services for the House. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 142.

The Committee has a maximum of nine members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:1

Mr Nick Ainger MP (Labour, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire)2

Patsy Calton MP (Liberal Democrat, Cheadle)2
Caroline Flint MP (Labour, Don Valley)2
Mr John Hayes MP (Conservative, South Holland and The Deepings)3

Martin Linton MP (Labour, Battersea)2
Mr Iain Luke MP (Labour, Dundee East)4

Mr John MacDougall MP (Labour, Central Fife)5

Julie Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff North)6

Mrs Marion Roe MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)2

On 17 July 2001, the Committee elected Mrs Marion Roe as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other select committees or sub-committees of either House of Parliament for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House of Commons Commission.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Administration Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2471.

1  Mr Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Conservative, Cotswold) was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 12 November 2001; Dr Nick Palmer (Labour, Broxtowe) was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 8 July 2002; David Wright (Labour, Telford) was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 14 January 2002

2  Appointed on 16 July 2001

3  Appointed on 12 November 2001

4  Appointed on 5 November 2001

5  Appointed on 14 January 2002

6  Appointed on 16 July 2001, discharged on 5 November 2001 and reappointed on 8 July 2002

Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared: 23 April 2003